We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outside evening experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guido's Favorite Foods

Guido's Favorite Foods
1201 Main Ave, Suite 102, Durango, CO 81301
970 259 5028
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 161 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Guido's Favorite Foods is an Authentic Italian Trattoria Specializing in seafood, hand made pasta dishes, eggplant parmesan, veal scaloppini and pork osso buco. We have an award winning all Italian wine list, amazing daily specials, and a seasonal menu utilizing locally grown produce. Our Chefs travel to Italy annually to keep the menu truly authentic. We are located at 1201 Main Avenue and have an award winning patio right on historic Main Street Durango, Colorado.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great outside evening experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a nice little Italian restaurant & market where you can buy prepared foods & dry goods to take home or enjoy a casual lunch/dinner in the restaurant or outside. It is located on the northern end of downtown Main street which is a little quieter during the busy summer season and has a nice front dining courtyard that is shaded by the building so no hot western sun.
We had a wonderful early dinner in the courtyard on Friday night & the staff was very accommodating throughout the entire meal. Many of the courtyard tables were reserved for later but they let us dine anyways. The menu offers a variety of northern & southern Italian foods and is not just the usual mainstream Italian, the mussels are popular and they serve sliced Italian bread with the meals. Great for a nice quiet, casual meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    65
    41
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Because the employee who took our reservation made two mistakes--he booked us for a Sunday evening when the restaurant is normally closed and he did not take our phone number--the owner/chef Susan decided to honor our reservation. She opened the restaurant to our party of 5 and cooked us a fabulous Italian meal. Her daughter was our server and we had a wonderful evening. Our dinner--shrimp wrapped in bacon, caprese salad, rigatoni with Bolognese sauce, bucatini Amatriciana, rolled pork loin, turkey scallopine in mushroom sauce, a fabulous Chianti, and excellent coffee--was top notch from start to finish. We are locals and Guido's is by far the best Italian food in Durango and one of our two favorite restaurants in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian/Deli in Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Delicious food in the restaurant (I suggest the turkey scallopine or rosa) and also an amazing European style deli/market. Guido's is a very traditional Italian restaurant, but you can find something for everyone on the menu. I highly suggest coming here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous and they have kid's menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Great. We were disappointed when trip advisor never listed any Italian restaurant s.... don't miss this great restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Food above average, atmosphere great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We ate hear after searching on tripadvisor and yelp for a recommendation for Italian food. Since the weather was outstanding we ate on their large open patio. We ordered two appetizers, the Fresh Castelvetrano Green Olives 1.95 (you get a very little ramakin bowl full) and Prosciutto in olive oil topped with artichokes. Both were delicious with a glass of wine. They have an hour long VERY limited Happy Hour with only one red and one white wine at a discount and a couple appetizers. For the main course we both ordered the Turkey Breast Scaloppine Topped with Mozzarella Cheese, Sautéed Button Mushrooms, Marsala Wine, Touch of Cream for $13.95. The mushrooms and Marsala sauce were yummy but the good sized portion of turkey breast was kind of tasteless and very tough around the outside edges. I really think if they would use a boneless, skinless chicken breast instead the dish would be much better. We did really enjoy the patio atmosphere and the help were all very nice. They have a little fresh deli and gelato bar inside the restaurant too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guido's Favorite Foods also viewed

 

Been to Guido's Favorite Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guido's Favorite Foods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.