We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Guido's Favorite Foods

Guido's Favorite Foods
1201 Main Ave, Suite 102, Durango, CO 81301
970 259 5028
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 158 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Guido's Favorite Foods is an Authentic Italian Trattoria Specializing in seafood, hand made pasta dishes, eggplant parmesan, veal scaloppini and pork osso buco. We have an award winning all Italian wine list, amazing daily specials, and a seasonal menu utilizing locally grown produce. Our Chefs travel to Italy annually to keep the menu truly authentic. We are located at 1201 Main Avenue and have an award winning patio right on historic Main Street Durango, Colorado.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not that great...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Love Italian food, but this place was lacking. I ordered the Melanzane al Forno Parmigiano
which was oven baked layers of breaded eggplant, house made tomato sauce. It tasted like something I could eat at a mall. It may have been like sitting out all day (possibly two) and then reheated in the oven. The servers were polite, but forgetful. Nice atmosphere. I was disappointed with the main reason you go out to eat however....the food. Not a repeat.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    64
    39
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Utah
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Guido's is Upscale Italian in Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Guido's is located in the Historic section of Durango, Colorado; the main floor of a modern building of apartments. There is a patio section outside, but we opted to sit inside, so we could get a good look at the deli area, and shelves of food stuffs for sale.

We were able to find tubs of mascarpone cheese (17.5 oz for $12.98), dried pastas and many other specialties. However, this was very far from the typical deli/restaurant one would expect in the Little Italy section of New York City or Philadelphia. It reminded me more of an upper East side restaurant where more posh clientele would dine; not folks like ourselves who were dressed in jeans, t-shirts and sneakers. So, if you're looking for a more upscale Italian restaurant, Guido's is for you.

Since we were there, we decided to sit in the dining area anyway, and try out a couple of menu items. I opted for the Italian Meatball sandwich; the meatballs were most definitely real and delicious; not the typical frozen rubbery type many places use. The sauce was awesome, and I used the toasted bread to sop it all up. The corn salad contained cut up cherry tomatoes, onions and chunks of Gorgonzola cheese (a much stronger version of bleu cheese).

Hubby had the Guido's Specialty Panini with Italian meats and cheese; freshly sliced meats, rich cheese and the bread was toasted perfectly and buttery. He had the pasta salad as his side; bow tie pasta with spicy pepperoni.

While the food was very good, the prices ($11.95 per entree) were a bit steep for a sandwich plus one side; making Guido's definitely a more upscale restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best Italian cuisine since a trip to Amalfi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

After scanning restaurant choices on trip advisor we happened upon Guidos. A charming location on Main street and 12th with outdoor and indoor contemporary decor. One review suggested seats were facing the deli. This is incorrect as the seating is nicely separated with the stylish decor of an upscale yet casual atmosphere.
The food was amazing. From the bread and superb olive oil to antipasti, entrees, cappucino and gelato. Delicious.
The owner and wait staff were very gracious! Guido's is on the top of my list for great cuisine in Durango for visitors and locals. Number one for Italian fare!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Our family likes Italian food, so we've tried all the spots in our hometown of Durango. My wife and I definitely prefer it to any of the other options in this city. The setting is a little unusual, about 15 tables on one side of the space, while on the other side is a bar, shelves with imported Italian food for sale, and a counter with meat and other food options. They also have a menu my Italian wife says is more traditionally Italian, with a 4-course organization (salad, pasta, meat, and dessert), so the pasta dishes are not gargantuan...I think they hope you'll order a meat dish too. The food is excellent, savory seasoned dishes like ravioli (my fave). The service can be typically Durangan, good to bad depending on your waiter. Sean, the owner is usually there when we've visited, and he's genuinely interested in how things are. Local beers and a very good wine selection. In short, I am a convert, and now a regular customer because they are the beest option in town.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We walked up here on a Saturday evening and were made to feel welcome despite the lack of a reservation. This place offers quite high end Italian cuisine for the region, although the prices are not excessive. Americans might consider the portions on the small side but the Sheriff's Lady and I were pleased to be able to absorb three courses without troubling our thoughts with the scales back home. For our money, the team had got the right balance between quality and portion size, serving something really good in just the right amounts. There might be a downside if you wanted a really romantic dinner - the restaurant is in one of the newer office buildings on the edge of the historic district but I remember eating Raymond Blanc's cooking when he was still operating from a converted laundromat in Oxford so I tend to go more on the dining than on the candlelight...

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guido's Favorite Foods also viewed

 

Been to Guido's Favorite Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guido's Favorite Foods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.