We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the piano player” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Belle Saloon

Diamond Belle Saloon
699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
970-375-7150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 167 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Sandwiches, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Take a Step Back in Time... the Diamond Belle Saloon takes you back to the late 1880s, saloon girls and bartenders dressed in period outfits. Live music every night of the week and live gunfights Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays during the summer months.
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved the piano player”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We ate dinner here one evening with our 8 year old grandson. He was totally engrossed with the ragtime piano player Adam who even played a couple "train" tunes for him. We were seated right away. The waitresses, who are dressed in period costume were friendly, and service was quick. The food was good. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and will be back when we visit Durango again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    144
    35
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalhart, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“diamond belle saloon, service slow as a rock”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Our family looked forward to having lunch here. We arrived by 11am. Service started out good but our server ended up being the bartender and the place got busy and then service really went downhill. Tables who arrived after us were served before us. In reading the reviews it seems no one from the saloon is reading them as they still can't get the service right. Too bad as food was very good. Isn't a conflict to have the bartender act as server.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Scenery 1 : food 0 (soccer parlance)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I don't normally do theme styled restaurants and on balance won't do so ever again. Put away those romantic notions that your kids will give a hoot about the girls in dress, piano playing and o'time tunes. They won't. Apple have taken away our children's ability to consume anything real and as parents we are duty bound to ensure our children are capable of entertaining themselves when service is slow.

On the plus side our server explained how the kitchen would handle our "nut" allergy child and his meal, hence the slow delivery of our food. Talking of food it was average, cold and slightly overlooked (fries).

The rating says it all. Sorry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Rip Roaring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Must admit upfront that I am a Wild West tragic. Fourth trip looking for old western hotels and saloons and this trip the Diamond Belle and Occidentals saloons were as good as it gets. The atmosphere is tremendous, the "saloon girls" dressed in old time costumes, the piano player ( who was very good ) the noise, people, everything takes you back to the 1870's. You need to get in early to get a seat at the bar, where else would you sit, and apparently for those of you who eat, the food is very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We visited Diamond Belle on our recent family vacation to Durango. I planned our visit on Monday at 5:30 on purpose--I wanted to take advantage of the Happy Hour (4-6pm) the ragtime piano player (5-7pm) and the Gun Fight (M/W/F at 7pm).

We were seated right away. The atmosphere is awesome. The piano player was excellent, the girls were dressed in period clothing. The details of the hotel were beautiful.

And that is where the compliments end. The service was the worst I have ever experienced. My husband an I received our drinks which were still pricey (even for happy hour). And we didn't get anything else for 40 minutes (no joke). Our waitress came and apologized that it had taken 40 minutes for our appetizer to come out, and advised that she'd go check on our order and bring us some water.

Long story short, we waited for over 2 hours for a water refill, and a burned appetizer. I sent back the appetizer, and ended up leaving without ever receiving any food (despite ordering it after the 40 minute mark). I felt that this was unacceptable, we had two children with us (ages 8 and 5) who were incredibly patient in these circumstances.

The gun fight left a lot to be desired, and while a unique and fun concept, the food service was so bad it made the brief gun battle seem hokey and not worth the wait. I was glad that we visited the Saloon because of the historic value, but I cannot recommend it. Unless you are going for drinks only, I wouldn't bother.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Belle Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Belle Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Belle Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.