We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hype exceeds the quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Belle Saloon

Diamond Belle Saloon
699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
970-375-7150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 149 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Sandwiches, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Take a Step Back in Time... the Diamond Belle Saloon takes you back to the late 1880s, saloon girls and bartenders dressed in period outfits. Live music every night of the week and live gunfights Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays during the summer months.
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The hype exceeds the quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were shuffled to a small upstairs mezzanine. Perhaps if we had waited near the crowded doorway we would have seen enough to change our minds. The place is built on the premise that back in the day all waitresses wore clothing that might take might take your mind off the surrounds. It probably wasn't quite as true then and certainly isn't now. The service was slow and then we were rushed to finish. The food was at best average and the females seemed mindful that they have to show some skin to keep their jobs.
Durango is a great town for eats and drinks. You do much better. If you want to see what the hype and DBS is all about go in the door - you won't be noticed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Diamond Belle Saloon, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to respond with a review. I am sorry you felt rushed, and crowded. In historic places, space is not always in excess as in more modern places today. During the holidays we are extremely busy, and welcome everyone, and try to accommodate all that would like to come in and rest. We apologize if that made you feel shuffled. As you can see most of our reviewers have praised the Belle for its décor, ambiance, food and small town hospitality. The only issue I would like to bring up is the claim that our “females seemed mindful they have to show some skin to keep their jobs”. I believe this statement is insulting to my staff and we take pride in the way we treat our staff. We protect them and market our establishment as a family environment. Most people enjoy the western flare and ambiance that such a saloon environment adds. I would be happy to discuss this further if you have a desire, as I would be interested to hear if there was anything actions that lead you to feel this way, as that is never ok with our establishment. Maybe perhaps the atmosphere of the historic flavor is not to your taste, which is not for everyone. We do have the Mahogany Grille that offers a more modern dining experience with historical undertones.
Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.
Regards
Michelle Thom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    144
    35
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pot Pie a MUST Have”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stopped in at the Diamond Belle after checking in at the hotel. This is a great old west decorated saloon; we sat in the balcony area since the main portion of the saloon was full. The staff dresses in period clothing and are very friendly.

We stopped back by that evening and tried the pot pie. This is a MUST at the saloon. It's very creamy and the crust is a flaky homemade deliciousness.

The saloon offers local brews on tap, great coffee cocktails and nightly music.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old Saloon Atmosphere / Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat before we did the Polar Express and stumbled upon this gem of a place. Kids just loved it as it was an old western saloon setup as a restaurant/bar. Staff was awesome with great service and friendly to boot. Live music was playing during our visit and it was great. We sat upstairs with the kids which I highly recommend as you don't feel in the way with the kids and they love looking out over the rest of the Saloon. Food was awesome and they had a great selection of drinks including the local brewery on tap. Good prices as well. If your in town for the train or anything else stop by and enjoy a meal and/or drink!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Diamond Belle Saloon, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for the great review. We hope your trip was enhanced by your experience here with us.
Safe Travels
Michelle Thom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always entertaining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stopped by on Noel night, it was cold outside but the Diamond Belle was warm and hopping.
This friendly saloon built in the 1800s has always been a reliable stop if you want friendly service and ambience that is not contrived or theme park like. Great service, music, appetizers and meals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Diamond Belle Saloon, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for the great review. We hope your trip was enhanced by your experience here with us.
Safe Travels
Michelle Thom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Authentic old west ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We sat in the balcony seating while a guy played his guitar and sang. The waitresses wear saloon girl outfits (may not be appropriate for some kids). Food took quite a while after we ordered but was worth the wait. After dinner, we took a horse drawn sleigh ride through town because they pick up in front of Strater Hotel. A fun and entertaining evening!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Belle Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Belle Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Belle Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.