We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and value plus awsome entertainment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Belle Saloon

Diamond Belle Saloon
699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
970-375-7150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 151 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Take a Step Back in Time... the Diamond Belle Saloon takes you back to the late 1880s, saloon girls and bartenders dressed in period outfits. Live music every night of the week and live gunfights Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays during the summer months.
Grand Junction
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and value plus awsome entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went here with the wife while wandering around downtown, early on a monday evening and found this place. It is in Strater hotel along with another restuarant and tapas bar. All looked very intriguing but the Diamond Belle had live music so we checked it out. The service was great, as well as the ambiance (old western) waitresses had on cocktail dresses. The food was great I had the diamond burger which was made from steak scraps, and had hand cut fries served with it. They also had fresh roasted green chilies. My wife had the bbq bourbon salmon which was cooked perfectly, it melted in your mouth. Plus they carried local brews. The entertainment for the night was a one man band with just a guitar. He knew every song you could think of and played it right on the money. He was very animated and the restaurant crowd loved it. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    172
    43
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old West Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stopped in for a beer and pleasantly interrupted with a "gun fight." Saloon has that "Old West atmosphere" with the staff dressed in era appropriate fashion. The food is good, the drinks are great and very reasonable. Atmosphere is fantastic, but you have to go listen to the piano player! He's great!! Even got a picture of Abraham Lincoln and his wife Mary, along with "Wild Bill" and a host of other wild west legends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location. Food was priced right for the quality.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Was in Durango over the Labor Day weekend. A motorcycle rally was there at the same time. This made it a little difficult to get a feel for the true Durango atmosphere. Everywhere was crowded with LOUD motorcycles. Given that the staff at Diamond Belle did a great job keeping up with the large crowds. Food was good, not outstanding. I think the prices fit though. The Diamond Belle is part of the Strater Hotel. Neat old, historic building. I would come here again and hang in the saloon bar area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like stepping back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great music, the help was all decked out in old west costumes, and the drinks were reasonable priced for such an awesome venue.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Ragtime Piano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Diamond Belle Saloon was greatly enjoyed. We ate dinner here twice. The piano was lovely and we could have stayed longer. The gunfight left a little to be desired and we could have skipped that. We purposely timed our dinner to enjoy it, but what started in the Saloon moved out onto the street. It was hard to hear even in the Saloon. Food can be a little cold as it is carried from the dining room over. But you can't beat the ambiance!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Belle Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Belle Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Belle Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.