We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throw back to yesteryear.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Belle Saloon

Diamond Belle Saloon
699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
970-375-7150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 160 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Hamburgers, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Take a Step Back in Time... the Diamond Belle Saloon takes you back to the late 1880s, saloon girls and bartenders dressed in period outfits. Live music every night of the week and live gunfights Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays during the summer months.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Throw back to yesteryear.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Diamond Belle is a place that brings the 1880's back to life. Everything about this place screams history. From the outfits the employees wear to the finishes on the walls is 1880. The restaurant was the old bar in the Strater Hotel. They used to allow smoking which was a turn off, but now - smoke free. I go in for a drink at the bar and usually get an appetizer. My wife and I go there for sandwiches or hamburgers. We have never been disappointed. You will also see locals, who make this place even more fun. At times the food delivery is slow, but this gives more time to enjoy the atmosphere. Everyone has to remember, this is Durango, not a big city with big city speed. Slow down and enjoy SW Colorado and the history of the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    131
    31
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Historical setting, loud, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The first impression was to keep on going by this restaurant. It is small, crowded, and loud. The reason we went in was for the live piano music, which was done in the Old West style. The service and beer were pretty good. We just had starters, and showed little sense in what we ordered. Why would we order seafood in CO?? The music and food were mediocre. Keep on going, unless you like mediocrity.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Loved this place, had the rosemary garlic chicken two nights in a row! They want you to have a good time, rag time piano player was great. Try it when you stay at the Strater.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

There is much history about the Diamond Belle Saloon. The other day my wife and I had to wait about one hour for our order. We ordered 2 hamburgers and French fries. My wife asked for certain things on the side and I asked for mine to be done medium rare. Well, after waiting so long the 2 burgers were nothing near what we ordered. My wife's included everything on it including things she didn't request. Mine was burnt to a crisp. We notified the waitress who in turn sent over the owner to our table. She apologized and said she would take 20% off the food portion of our bill, which she did. We don't look for excuses or discounts, all we want is what we ordered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A great old building with a gun fight show to boot. My food (salmon) was prepared well and was quite tasty. They serve huge burgers but make sure its cooked. My boyfriend had to ask them for a new burger because it was quite raw inside (they were quick to accommodate and the second was cooked just right). If you like your burgers medium you might ask them to cook it to medium well.
We were right by the action once the gunfight show started and spilled out into the street outside
the window by our table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Belle Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Belle Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Belle Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.