We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical setting, loud, mediocre food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Belle Saloon

Diamond Belle Saloon
699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
970-375-7150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 149 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Sandwiches, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Take a Step Back in Time... the Diamond Belle Saloon takes you back to the late 1880s, saloon girls and bartenders dressed in period outfits. Live music every night of the week and live gunfights Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays during the summer months.
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Historical setting, loud, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The first impression was to keep on going by this restaurant. It is small, crowded, and loud. The reason we went in was for the live piano music, which was done in the Old West style. The service and beer were pretty good. We just had starters, and showed little sense in what we ordered. Why would we order seafood in CO?? The music and food were mediocre. Keep on going, unless you like mediocrity.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    144
    35
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Loved this place, had the rosemary garlic chicken two nights in a row! They want you to have a good time, rag time piano player was great. Try it when you stay at the Strater.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

There is much history about the Diamond Belle Saloon. The other day my wife and I had to wait about one hour for our order. We ordered 2 hamburgers and French fries. My wife asked for certain things on the side and I asked for mine to be done medium rare. Well, after waiting so long the 2 burgers were nothing near what we ordered. My wife's included everything on it including things she didn't request. Mine was burnt to a crisp. We notified the waitress who in turn sent over the owner to our table. She apologized and said she would take 20% off the food portion of our bill, which she did. We don't look for excuses or discounts, all we want is what we ordered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A great old building with a gun fight show to boot. My food (salmon) was prepared well and was quite tasty. They serve huge burgers but make sure its cooked. My boyfriend had to ask them for a new burger because it was quite raw inside (they were quick to accommodate and the second was cooked just right). If you like your burgers medium you might ask them to cook it to medium well.
We were right by the action once the gunfight show started and spilled out into the street outside
the window by our table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Refused to seat a single woman traveler at a table?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I felt compelled to start writing trip advisor reviews after my experience at this restaurant on a recent trip to Durango in August. I chose this restaurant as a history buff for the atmosphere and walked in. I understand that they were busy. I was offered the last seat at the bar but it was filled with men and I did not feel comfortable plus I don't drink. I offered to wait for a table and was told to wait in the lobby for about 15 minutes, While I was there - the hostess returned to me and said "We don't really sit single people. There is a older couple who agreed to have you sit with them. I am shy and would never be comfortable with this arrangement. I declined and left the restaurant. In almost 3 years of travelling all over the country for work from one coast to another this has NEVER happened to me before and I eat out at all classes of restaurants during all times of the day at least 3 days/week. I hope the managers review this comment as the experience completely ruined my trip to Durango:(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Belle Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Belle Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Belle Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.