We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Belle Saloon

Diamond Belle Saloon
699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
970-375-7150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 158 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Hamburgers, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Take a Step Back in Time... the Diamond Belle Saloon takes you back to the late 1880s, saloon girls and bartenders dressed in period outfits. Live music every night of the week and live gunfights Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays during the summer months.
Lakewood, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A great old building with a gun fight show to boot. My food (salmon) was prepared well and was quite tasty. They serve huge burgers but make sure its cooked. My boyfriend had to ask them for a new burger because it was quite raw inside (they were quick to accommodate and the second was cooked just right). If you like your burgers medium you might ask them to cook it to medium well.
We were right by the action once the gunfight show started and spilled out into the street outside
the window by our table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    159
    105
    27
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Refused to seat a single woman traveler at a table?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I felt compelled to start writing trip advisor reviews after my experience at this restaurant on a recent trip to Durango in August. I chose this restaurant as a history buff for the atmosphere and walked in. I understand that they were busy. I was offered the last seat at the bar but it was filled with men and I did not feel comfortable plus I don't drink. I offered to wait for a table and was told to wait in the lobby for about 15 minutes, While I was there - the hostess returned to me and said "We don't really sit single people. There is a older couple who agreed to have you sit with them. I am shy and would never be comfortable with this arrangement. I declined and left the restaurant. In almost 3 years of travelling all over the country for work from one coast to another this has NEVER happened to me before and I eat out at all classes of restaurants during all times of the day at least 3 days/week. I hope the managers review this comment as the experience completely ruined my trip to Durango:(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
“Best Burger in Years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The restaurant was fun and lively. Excellent service and the combo of meats they use to make the burgers are outstanding. Also, excellent calamari app. Would recommend for atmosphere and the ragtime piano player was very good and a fun sing along.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Festive Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The food was decent but it was the atmosphere that was really neat. An authentic saloon with a live piano player, you feel like you just stepped into the past. A must stop in even for just a drink.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Historic Atmosphere and Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I ate dinner at the Diamond Belle Saloon on August 7, 2013. After about a 45 minute wait, we were seated in the balcony area. The atmosphere of the saloon is fantastic as it dates back to the 19th century. The waitress was very friendly and provided excellent service. I had their signature burger and it was fantastic. During our dinner, the saloon was "robbed" by a couple of cowboys which led to a shootout with lawmen outside. My son loved it and was able to take a picture with the robbers and sheriff. If you are visiting Durango, I highly recommend the Diamond Belle Saloon because the food was satisfying and the atmosphere is very unique.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Belle Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Belle Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Belle Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.