We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always tasty and a good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zia Taqueria

Zia Taqueria
3101 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4268
970-247-3355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 158 restaurants in Durango
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always tasty and a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Zia's food is dependably fresh and delicious. As a veggie lover, I can get plenty of what I want, while my meat-loving companions are happy, too. They could use more seating space during busy meal times, so I try to time my stops there when it's not so busy. I go over there once or twice every couple of months.

Zia's has something of a fast-food atmosphere and can be counted on to serve up a meal quickly. I don't mind ordering at the counter at all -- I like seeing and picking out exactly what I want -- but if they had more seating so it felt OK to linger a little over chips, margaritas & meals, I'd give them 5 stars. If I were rating only the food relative to the cost, and not taking into account the restaurant space itself, I'd give the food and value 5 stars.

I've heard Zia's tamales are great, but I've never been able to make it over there before they were all sold out. Everything else I've tried has been great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    78
    44
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh. Quick "tex mex"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great, quick, clean food. Eat here very often while in Durango. Fast Service.
I consider "healthy" fast food.
Almost 5 stars. I just can't give "fast food" 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great local Durango fresh mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is an excellent choice for someone looking for fresh, locally-sourced burritos, quesadillas, rice bowls, fish tacos. Chipotle/freebirds style assembly line style. It can get rather crowded at noon on work days as locals flock there for lunch, but is a very good and inexpensive place to get a healthy delicious lunch or dinner. Good place to take kids. The fried fish tacos with mango habanero salsa are a standout.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum E!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place is fresh and amazing. The baja style fish tacos I dream about! I liked everything. Ate here a few times during our trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Healthy Quick Local Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Zia's is one of my favorite "go to" quickie restaurants. Even when there is a wait, the line goes quickly. They use a lot of local products when they can. The food is consistently good and high quality. The dining room is always clean and the staff is friendly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zia Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Zia Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zia Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.