We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and Chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Irish Embassy Pub

The Irish Embassy Pub
900 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
(970) 403-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 149 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Marlin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

While having an Irish beer, try the fish and chips. Two huge pieces of cod that could feed two people (but you can get a half order).

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    79
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Pub & Grub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Authentic Irish Pub in Durango. The food is amazing. Mum's pot roast sure beats my mom's! Very large portions. Plan on taking dinner home. Service can be a bit on the slow side, but the food is worth the wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“tasty fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stopped here cruising through Durango and the kids meals were generous both kids loved that they got ice cream after they finished their meals. My husband and I thought the fish and chips was generous size, we could have actually split a plate for lunch. It was a Monday lunch and it was a boatload of yummy food. We each had a battered and a pc. of hand breaded fish. I think I liked the battered better. But definitely worth the $7.95 price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We were looking for a pub style place for good food and beer. The atmosphere is very laid back. We ended up setting at the bar and the bartender was actually Irish. She could tell you about all the beers and recommended two for us that were perfect to our tastes. We ordered the fried calamari for an appetizer and it was excellent! The calamari wasn't chewy at all and they were perfectly breaded. We shared the fish and chips and it was huge! Two of us couldn't even finish it. We chose the beer battered fish and the batter was excellent and the fish was light and tender. We will definitely be going back the next time we are in Durango.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Very pleasant surroundings. Warm and cozy! Great appetizers at fair prices. The burger was delicious. Excellent attentive servers. I'll go back when I am in town again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish Embassy Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Irish Embassy Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Irish Embassy Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.