We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regular stop for me” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Irish Embassy Pub

The Irish Embassy Pub
900 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
(970) 403-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 162 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: American, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A regular stop for me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have been going to this pub as long as it has been open...........at first just to catch the music sessions on Sundays, but my visits have become more frequent........lunch when I am shopping, dinner in the evenings when work is over early, meeting friends in town. Why? Because of the the greetings from the staff (and they know I want a Guinness when I walk in the door), they chat when they have a chance, pay attention to details and are professional in all respects. I have my favorites on the menu and like to try new items when they come out. The live music is great, it's nice to start chatting with the person(s) next to you, have good food and drink. There is a friendly, community oriented feel....families are welcome, local charities are supported.... I like being there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    69
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Shepard's pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We picked this pub when our first choice literally closed up in front of us, taking down their sign and turning down the light. Please note that neither of us drink so this review and score does not take into account any alcohol serviced (and we had to pass on the Guinness Brownie). I am part Irish so the flag caught my eye as we were looking for options. We were glad that we did. The ambiance is corner pub so four dots. The service was excellent, even though we didn't order any drinks our water was constantly filled even between lunch and dinner. So five dots. We split the shepherds pie and agreed that it was one of the best that we had. It was very rich and meaty. They didn't follow the practice of throwing in a lot of cheap onions to cut corners. Price was good, it was large enough for both of us to split and there was no extra charge. So five dots for value and five overall. Next time we are in Durango, we would go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bar & Grill with a twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

While the menu specializes in burgers, there is usually an Irish cuisine selection. Those potatoes are fried to a crisp - no soggy ones here.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Okay Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Kind of fun having an Irish pub in western Durango. The beer is excellent, the food just average. There is live Irish music on Sundays.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ugh!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was skeptical when my friend suggested we have lunch at this pub. I don't usually like pub food, but I tried to keep an open mind. At my friend's suggestion, we both ordered the half portion of fish and chips. The fish was battered and fried and the fish itself seemed mushy. My friend sent hers back, asking for another order. She didn't feel that the fish was cooked sufficiently. I wasn't sure what was wrong with mine, but I didn't finish it. My overall impression of this place is that it is just a bar that serves typical bar food. My chair back was broken and the place seemed dingy and not very clean. Our wait person was very nice and apologetic about the chair and the food. I usually give restaurants a second chance but not sure I'd waste my time on this place when there are too many really good restaurants in Durango.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish Embassy Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Irish Embassy Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Irish Embassy Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.