We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colorado Trails Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colorado Trails Ranch
Save Saved
You added Colorado Trails Ranch to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Ranch   |   12161 County Road 240, Durango, CO   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Palmdale, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Pure fun! A week at Colorado Trails Ranch in the beautiful San Juan Mountains is the setting for a fabulous family vacation. For several summers my husband and I have traveled to CTR for the horseback riding and Art Week, so we were thrilled when our four rambunctious grandchildren were finally old enough to participate in the activities. We are a family of 11; ages 8 - 78.

Ask each person what they enjoyed most and you will get 11 different answers - horseback riding, tubing, trap shooting, the cattle drive, fishing, white water rafting, mountain climbing, swimming, bow and arrow, the soda fountain, and the RUCKUS ROOM!

But I, the matriarch of this menagerie, am writing this review, so I will tell you of my favorites:
1. The fabulous food! Three times a day I enjoyed great meals in the carefree company of my family.
2. I especially enjoy the square dancing and the Saturday afternoon CTR Rodeo. The stars of the rodeo are all the guests at the ranch. It is so much fun.
3. The Children's program is action packed and filled with exciting activities. It even includes an overnight campout. If you miss your kids though, you are welcome to join them.

Jeanne and her staff are the best! They are professional and friendly and will do everything possible to make sure that you have a great week at CTR. A great plus for CTR is that it is a seven day program whereas many guest ranches are only six days.

*A Priceless Vignette - Two years ago one of my grandsons went to the corral with the other children on Monday morning to meet his horse. He was afraid of the horse and would not get on it. The tears flowed. That afternoon, his daddy and the wrangler spent several hours with him alone in the corral until he gained skill and confidence. Now he's a real cowboy, and I am so grateful to the wrangler for that special attention. It made a huge difference!

Room Tip: The new cabins are great. They are large and have a living room and a full-length deck that overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just returned from our 5th visit to Colorado Trails, and this year was better than ever. There have been many improvements since last year and all of them were wonderful. Jeannie and her staff have to be the most accommodating hosts ever. They are the most "can do" bunch around. As always the food was excellent, the staff was tops, and the riding was terrific. They have added new cabins which are just beautiful and a new pool and spa. We are always sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The quickest and easiest way to do justice to Colorado Trails Ranch is to say that absolutely everything is wonderful. The activities, location, food (definitely the food), staff, facilities and especially Jeannie who is lovely person doing an amazing job. We've had the best family holiday ever and are very keen to go back some time in the future. We were truly made to feel part of a big family. It's a great safe environment for the kids and they've had a ball, as have the parents who can relax, knowing the kids are being well looked after. I honestly can't pick out my favourite bits as they all were.

Room Tip: I recommend choosing a cabin with mountain views, although all views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemunden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our vacation to the Colorado Trails Ranch was truly unique. The people, the organization, area, atmosphere, food - everything really perfect.

The selection of horses based on the preferences and skills of the individual guests was really great. In the end we did not want to give up our horses and would have loved to take them to Germany.

You could write many more good things, but the most important is simply: In general, they understand it very well on CTR, to ensure guests a vacation that feels like coming home to a family. Not something you experience often, and therefore it is truly remarkable.

We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was a vacation we'll never forget! From the moment that Mike, the maintenance manager, picked us up at our hotel in Durango, to the day we left, we felt welcomed and appreciated. It's the first vacation spot that we actually didn't want to leave! Jeanne, the ranch manager, was such a joy to be around and was so organized and efficient. We experienced gourmet meals, lots of horseback riding and fishing, wonderful staff, and a friendly laid back atmosphere. The ranch is set up like a little Western town and is very well maintained with colorful buildings and clean, neat surroundings. We had the Longview cabin which had a beautiful view of green hills, pastures, and the barn and stables. There was such a variety of activities to choose from that we were never bored. Sign up for most morning activities was done the night before and most afternoon activities were arranged at lunchtime. This made for a very leisurely vacation as, except for a few outside excursions that required advance sign up, we could be quite spontaneous when planning our day. Although we didn't have any children with us, we could see that the children's program was full and fun-filled. Except for mealtime, parents had the day to themselves while the kids were off fishing, horseback riding, and even on an overnight camp out. All I can say is that at the end of our stay we were already trying to plan our next vacation at Colorado Trails Ranch.

Room Tip: Longview cabin Has a beautiful view. Also the only cabin that receives cellphone and WiFi signal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had been here in 1981 so now I wanted my grandchildren to experience some memories of western experiences. They were ages 16-7 and there were activities for all ages as well as the adults. They were very accommodating to giving grandma shorter and levelier trail rides. the food was wonderful, as well as the staff and plenty of varied activities.
Nothing to change or complain about. I would definitely recommend this ranch as it lived up to my earlier expectations and more. Jeanne was a great guide with a wealth of infomation on the Mesa Verde day trip which I would recommend.
My one granddaughter was upset that she would not see Calamity, her horse , again.so I would say that even the 7 year old was happy

Others have given more detailed reviews which I thoroghly agree with and they said it more eloquently than I can.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first trip to CTR. We have an 8 year old grandson who lives in Durango and decided that this would be a wonderful memory for him and his grandparents. The ranch was beyond any expectations! The staff was an integral part of our positive experience... from the ranch manager, Jeanne to the crew in the dining room, to the wranglers, the fishing guides and the children's counselors... we were impressed by their participation with the guests and their outgoing nature. The children's program was the best! Our grandson couldn't wait to be with the group and get on his horse. The riding instruction was superb, with a clear and caring approach. The food was amazing, the chef's creativity was evident.The rooms were comfortable and cleaned beautifully each day. I came away feeling that we had become a apart of a wonderful family.

Room Tip: The new cabins have all the amenities and are well laid out with a lovely back porch. The older cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colorado Trails Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Trails Ranch

Address: 12161 County Road 240, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colorado Trails Ranch 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun, adventure and breathtaking scenery await you at Colorado Trails Ranch, outside Durango in Southwestern Colorado. Enjoy horseback riding and fly-fishing for all levels of ability. There's also rafting, shooting sports, hiking, swimming, campfire sing-a-long, dancing and more. Children make new friends and discover new activities in CTR's children/teens' program. Our array of activities, friendly staff, excellent food and comfortable cabins make our ranch vacation one you'll always remember. Discount weeks in June and September. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colorado Trails Ranch Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colorado Trails Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.