We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Gathering” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colorado Trails Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colorado Trails Ranch
12161 County Road 240, Durango, CO   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hanover, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Gathering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first trip to CTR. We have an 8 year old grandson who lives in Durango and decided that this would be a wonderful memory for him and his grandparents. The ranch was beyond any expectations! The staff was an integral part of our positive experience... from the ranch manager, Jeanne to the crew in the dining room, to the wranglers, the fishing guides and the children's counselors... we were impressed by their participation with the guests and their outgoing nature. The children's program was the best! Our grandson couldn't wait to be with the group and get on his horse. The riding instruction was superb, with a clear and caring approach. The food was amazing, the chef's creativity was evident.The rooms were comfortable and cleaned beautifully each day. I came away feeling that we had become a apart of a wonderful family.

Room Tip: The new cabins have all the amenities and are well laid out with a lovely back porch. The older cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Usually when you go on a vacation, there is always a 'but'. You know, it was terrific but..... The but might be the cost of food, $12 drinks at the pool, the difficulty in getting there, staff being unfriendly or something like that. At Colorado Trails Ranch, there is no "but". There were eleven family members in our group. Everything was perfect. We drove in from ALB airport, about four hours. ALB is an inexpensive (because of Southwest Airlines) airport and rental cars were easily affordable. Jeannie met us as we drove up and give us a personal tour of our accommodations and all the buildings on the property. The food all week was plentiful and exceptionally tasty. The staff was wonderfully engaging and personal.

Eating each meal with the staff allowed an even stronger personal connection. Heck, I cleaned up my room every morning and made my bed because I didn't want to be inconvenient the for the housekeeping staff that I ate dinner with the night before.

However, it was the little things that are most memorable that made me feel that Colorado Trails was exceptional. Here are some examples.

They took pictures of each family when we checked in and posted the pictures so all the other guests and staff could learn each person's name and where they were from. Later in the week, a copy of that picture in a personalized CTR frame was placed in my room.

The kitchen delivered fresh fruit every day. They placed a fresh plate of cookies in our rooms when we were out on horse rides. They even went as far as to give us 4-5 free postcards to send to friends and left a note saying, "Drop these off at the office and we'll mail them out for you. We'll take care of the postage."

Want a soda? The soda machine was 50 cents. I think the last time I paid 50 cents for a soda was 15 years ago.

I've been on plenty of vacations to swanky hotels in Hawaii and foreign countries. I've never felt so welcome as I did at Colorado Trails. You can see all their activities on their web site but you can't see the service and the little details. If you're thinking of a dude ranch, look no further.

Room Tip: They have 3-4 new cabins, built in 2013. If you can, book those. The views are tremendous. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We have been to CTR 3 times before and always had a great time. This time was even better as they built 3 beautiful cabins with big porches and living rooms. It was a wonderful gathering place for the whole family. Thay have this amazing cook and we had meals that were like at a 5 star restaurant. If you are looking for a get away like no other.....this is it. The little ones cried when they had to leave their horse and go home. The horses are so well trained that you feel like a Pro right away.
Everyday they would leave us little gifts of fruit, cookies or postcards in our rooms. The river rafting was so fun, I only wish they had water skiing and tubing for the adults. We would love to go back again someday.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Mom and Dad treated all of us to an amazing dude ranch experience! 20 family members met up at Colorado Trails Ranch and had the time of our lives! The kids group leaders were fun, engaging and excited to be with the kids. The kids rode horses twice a day, had so many other activities and were busy from morning til night. As for us adults, we rode horses, got to participate in a cattle drive (amazing experience and totally worth the extra $35), went trap shooting, fly-fishing and so much more.
Spending a full week with extended family was a wonderful, once-in-a-lifetime experience. If you have the opportunity to do it, I can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for the NEW cabins and you will be thrilled! The older cabins can get really hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Took our grand daughter with us last year and we all loved it so much we are returning this year. What a great place for kids and adults. We did a lot of fishing and she rode horses all the time. Everything was great fun and the staff, food and service was excellent. Highly recommend to all. A family reunion would be perfect here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Another nine hour flight from London UK, another seven hour drive to Durango and was it worth it for a return visit to Colorado Trails Ranch? TOO RIGHT it is! This year there are new cabins, a brand new pool and hot tub and the core staff from last year are still there. I have to say up front. The program here is AMAZING. We took both our boys with us this year (Ok they are grown up now, but both wanted to come). Last year we came and did not want to go home after our stay. This year we were "Old Timers" and the hospitality and care shown by all the staff is FANTASTIC.
The Riding and Fishing programs are well prepared, planned and second to none, with well trained staff that have the real life working experience to ensure you ride safe but have great fun as well. For us, we could not wish for more. The food by Chef' Brian and "Brenda the Baker" is as good as ever and what we really like is the complete immersion by the staff into ensuring the guests are well looked after. This includes eating together and constant discussion around the days activities just delivered and the planning for the next day. This years team (Build around the core riding and management team) are a great mix of people. Tip, Do the Chuck Wagon Cook Out Ride. Fantastic half day ride for all abilities

Are we coming back next year ? ALREADY SAVING OVER PENNIES !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'm not a particularly outdoorsy sort of person so there was a little hesitation when I agreed to go on a holiday with my family to a ranch in the middle of Colorado. However I couldn't have been more wrong.
Even from when you step out of the car into the ranch the scenery and sheer beauty of the place strikes you and makes you forget your slightest worry.
The ranch staff are so friendly and helpful that you couldn't find better service even in a 5* hotel in the best cities in the world and they would be hard pushed to make you more relaxed.
The food is even better offering feasts of American goodies 3 times a day, so as one review mentioned before, forget dieting if you want to go on this holiday. It's not going to happen. Brian is a genius on th grill and the amazing breakfast chef from Georgia certainly makes sure your ready for your day.
Riding with the wranglers (we had Brett, Caitlin and Kelsey) was stunning and makes you feel like a real cowboy!
I became hooked on fishing (excuse the pun) as standing knee deep in rolling Colorado rivers with beautiful forests either side and humming birds wizzing around feels unreal. And if you want a fishing guide whose gonna get you catching fish then Gordy and Hunter and your guys.
We also got slightly addicted to trap shooting with Mike and Yates and could have played Annie Oakley everyday even though our shoulders were blue by the end of it!
The cabins are perfect for crashing out (and seriously after a full day you will!) and make the perfect place to sit have a drink and catchup on the day.
I can't praise this place highly enough and the legends that are Jeanne, mike and jessaline should be proud of the operation that they head up.
Easily and by far the best holiday I have ever taken. Happy trails Colorado trails ranch, see you next year!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms, you can't beat the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colorado Trails Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Trails Ranch

Address: 12161 County Road 240, Durango, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty lodging in Durango
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun, adventure and breathtaking scenery await you at Colorado Trails Ranch, outside Durango in Southwestern Colorado. Enjoy horseback riding and fly-fishing for all levels of ability. There's also rafting, shooting sports, hiking, swimming, campfire sing-a-long, dancing and more. Children make new friends and discover new activities in CTR's children/teens' program. Our array of activities, friendly staff, excellent food and comfortable cabins make our ranch vacation one you'll always remember. Discount weeks in June and September. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colorado Trails Ranch Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colorado Trails Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Colorado Trails Ranch to your Saves list