We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supper under the Stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eolus Bar & Dining

Eolus Bar & Dining
919 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
+1 970-259-2898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eolus Bar & Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 149 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 9th street and Main Avenue
Transit: Durango Trolley stops in front of the Cosmopolitan on Historic Main Street.
Description: From farm to table and vine to wine Eolus Bar & Dining offers something for everyone. The local bounty shines through as the restaurant features an array of local products from farms, ranches, vinters, and breweries around southwest Colorado. Offering distinct places to enjoy the cuisine the rooftop patio is covered providing ample protection from the elements while providing premium views of the surrounding mountains. The elegant dining room provides choices of tables or booths to relax and sample creative concoctions from the bar. Eolus is great place to celebrate special occasions so be sure to let us know how we can elevate your dining experience. We are open 7 nights a week starting at 4:30.
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Supper under the Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Durango dining at its best can be experienced at Eolus. Eating on the rooftop elevated our experience, literally and figuratively. The downstairs is just a bit dark, when this other option is available. The wait staff has been superbly trained. I ordered the Vegetable Plate and enjoyed flavorful beets, mushroom quinoa, and other fresh offerings. My husband ordered the steak, which was served with mashed potatoes and greens. We both thoroughly enjoyed our food. The roof at Eulos is HEADS ABOVE the rest!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    26
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rooftop Date Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Absolutely fantastic ambiance and a lovely meal. Plating was gorgeous for my filet and probably one of the best pieces of meat I've ever had! Portion size was perfect too. Well done! Go local!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Roof Top of the Food Chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a great restro in the downtown area of Durango. Our large group was accommodated nicely on their rooftop/patio and the cuisine and service were excellent. Even though the weather was not perfect, we were all very comfortable outside. The rooftop has covered dining so don't hesitate to request it.
Entrees that wowed us were: the Seafood stew, a rich cioppino style dish, roasted duck breast and the two way rib eye. We stumbled across a Mendocino area Malbec that gave us a great wine without the huge Cabernet type price. Apps were quickly delivered and props to our service staff (Barney) who handled our group flawlessly. We anticipate many more business dinners in Durango and will make Eolus our go to place every time. This is a splurgey (pricey) place but great food usually is.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Level Contributor
131 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Second Best Restaurant in Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Always good food, especially the sushi.
Service is excellent and James, one of the owners, is always available to consult on wine and uncork your selection.
Try the Caesar salad and wild salmon roll and lobster corn dogs----delish.

Prices are no bargain so be prepared for a large bill.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Epicurean Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food, a little on the pricey side, but worth every bite! The burgers are fantastic and the food is fresh. Check it out, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eolus Bar & Dining also viewed

 

Been to Eolus Bar & Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eolus Bar & Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.