We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast becoming our favorite in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eolus Bar & Dining

Eolus Bar & Dining
919 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
+1 970-259-2898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eolus Bar & Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 150 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 9th street and Main Avenue
Transit: Durango Trolley stops in front of the Cosmopolitan on Historic Main Street.
Description: From farm to table and vine to wine Eolus Bar & Dining offers something for everyone. The local bounty shines through as the restaurant features an array of local products from farms, ranches, vinters, and breweries around southwest Colorado. Offering distinct places to enjoy the cuisine the rooftop patio is covered providing ample protection from the elements while providing premium views of the surrounding mountains. The elegant dining room provides choices of tables or booths to relax and sample creative concoctions from the bar. Eolus is great place to celebrate special occasions so be sure to let us know how we can elevate your dining experience. We are open 7 nights a week starting at 4:30.
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fast becoming our favorite in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We like the service and the wine list. Haven't tried everything on the menu, yet. The beef items pair well with many of the reasonable wines offered.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    22
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“So very great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Ventured into Eolus this evening and was very pleasantly surprised with just about everything. I was meeting a date there and had a few minutes to spare and was approached by every, single staff member in the joint making sure I was being taken care of. I fail to believe that I was sitting there looking that needy, so I chalk it up to their attentiveness. Nice job. Very extensive wine list and the two of sampled 4 red glasses. The sushi app was delightful and we shared the lobster burger....seriously. It's locally owned beef company, and it was topped with lobster and it was decadent and needs to be experienced by all. Gary was our waiter and he was perfect. The place is pricey, but I think it's worth it. Put it on your Durango "to-do" list.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME PLACE TO EAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have a group of college friends that meets in Durango every March to ski and have fun. We always end the trip at what was formally known as Cosmo's. Since we are from Texas and New Mexico, we did not know the story of the management split and name change. I am pleased to say that the experience met and exceeded our expectations! The atmosphere was elegant yet inviting. The service was exceptional (more on that later) and the food was nicely presented and tasted great. What a great evening.
Our server, Taylor, did an outstanding job explaining the menu and skillfully shepherding slightly obnoxious 5 men through the evening. She was a wealth of information about the town, restaurant and the menu.
We will be back next year. Don't know who will be the lucky waitperson that gets us but we promise to behave or at least make it worth your effort!!
FIVE STARS!!!!
Rusty Ryan

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lobster Hamburger? - It was AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our group of six decided to have dinner at Eolus our first night in Durango based on the recommendation of a friend. So glad we did! Everything from the food, to the ambiance to the service was exceptional. I'm still telling people about my delicious Lobster Hamburger with some of the best sweet potato fries I've ever had. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Durango.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durango, CO, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Opening night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

When I first tried to review Eolus it hadn't been listed yet and I requested its presence on trip advisor. There was a group of 12 of us that had a reservation a at Cosmos and we were told the day before that they were closed for repairs. We rescheduled for the following night and thought we were lost as the name out front had changed. Turns out it was opening night for Eolus and the place was packed. The food and service was great and not sure how they got the quick changeover managed so well. We will return for a special occasion on Thursday night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eolus Bar & Dining also viewed

 

Been to Eolus Bar & Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eolus Bar & Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.