We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Durango” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Downtown Durango

Historic Downtown Durango
Main St., Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 28 Attractions in Durango
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Many of the original buildings constructed and used by the area's pioneers can be found in this interesting and charming section of town that includes the grand Strater Hotel, built in 1887 and still in operation today.
Owasso, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Love Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We spent everyday visiting this area while in Durango. Never ran out of things to do. Can't wait until we can return. Fantastic vacation spot.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    158
    35
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Quaint downtown area with lots of shopping & eateries. Easy to walk And family friendly. With the live music, it is a nice way to spend an evening with out kids too!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stores open after dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The old town of Durango is small but filled with lots of interesting and different stores to pique your interest. There are excellent restaurants and many small shops selling quick bites also. As some of the stores stay open after the dinner hour during the week, it's a wonderful place to stroll and work off a delicious dinner. We stayed within walking distance of this area which made it very accessible.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed overnight on our way back to AZ from Colo Springs last August (2013). Great downtown. Love all the old buildings, and the old hotels. Durango has done a nice job with this. Shopping pretty good, and was impressed with the dog-friendly establishments. Would like to have spent more time here.....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very cute "historic" downtown strip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were in Durango for a soccer tournament and had some free time. We loved this little area of town. Lots of shops to stroll in and out of and friendly people. Lots of little restaurants. I believe the parking meters were free on Saturday...There's a GREAT pizza place - Diorios. We bought some nice odds & ends at a sporting goods/outdoors shop right on the main strip - can't remember the name of it but they were very helpful and friendly.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Downtown Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Downtown Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.