We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durango Colorado, downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Downtown Durango

Historic Downtown Durango
Main St., Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Attractions in Durango
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Many of the original buildings constructed and used by the area's pioneers can be found in this interesting and charming section of town that includes the grand Strater Hotel, built in 1887 and still in operation today.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Durango Colorado, downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Downtown Durango is a great place for everyone to enjoy. Cute shops, excellent restaurants, beautiful scenery and even great nightlife!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    181
    41
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

What I love best about downtown is how nice everyone is. I love the shops especially Get Fused. I could go there everyday!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely town with the friendliest people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The whole experience from the hotel, Polar Express to dining and shopping. It was all great. This is our first trip with our kids and grandkids but I'm sure it won't be the last. We all had a great time but it was too short a trip so next time we will stay longer. Great shops, many pubs and galleries were very nice to visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Quaint town; lots of tourist shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Durango is a walker's delight. Plenty of free parking, then stroll through the town, stopping at interesting shops or grab a bite to eat. It's a fun, hipster kind of place. Things are expensive, but it's a tourist town with a romantic charm.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“What fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have been visiting Durango for 30 years and it just keep getting better. The downtown is lively, with many clubs, pubs and restaurants and there are great shops for a variety of goods, including several art galleries and southwestern themed gift shops. The number of good to great restaurants is large. There are also a couple of brewpubs and wine bars. The old historic Strater Hotel is something you must visit, but the General Palmer House, and several others have vintage charm as well.

Some of our favorite things include the Irish Music jam sessions starting at 1 p.m. Sundays at the Irish Embassy, handcrafted beer at Steamworks or Carvers (which both have food and Carvers excels), of course the Durango to Silverton train, which has its station and museum downtown, are a must. Enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Downtown Durango also viewed

 

Been to Historic Downtown Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Downtown Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.