We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wonderland - usually” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Downtown Durango

Historic Downtown Durango
Main St., Durango, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 52 things to do in Durango
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Many of the original buildings constructed and used by the area's pioneers can be found in this interesting and charming section of town that includes the grand Strater Hotel, built in 1887 and still in operation today.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland - usually”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Though there are some years when snow is at a premium, a snowy walk along Main Street in winter is a must. Stop in for coffee/tea along the way. This is a favorite for "ladies' night out." Silver jewelry is available at many shops.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    196
    40
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fell in love with Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

An absolutely beautiful town with lots to do and see in a beautiful setting. We flew in after connecting through Denver, the airport is tiny but nice and efficient and very close to downtown. We were there in August during the big bicycle race so in addition to the usual offerings, there were lots of extra things to do. There is a fantastic farmer's market and I have to say, this place has one of the best foodie scenes that I've ever experienced. Hiking, rafting, climbing, horseback riding or just driving around, the place is drop dead gorgeous. Mesa Verde national park and it's famed cliff dwellings is about a 90 minute drive and absolutely fascinating. The Durango & Silverton narrow gauge railroad is another interesting point of interest, especially for families with kids. I fell in love with Durango.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Enjoyed our visit to Durango and shopping at the stores. Bought a few things and will definitely be back!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Loved going into all the little shops and especially loved all of the micro breweries Durango has to offer. Our favorite was Carvers. We loved their choices of beer and their stuffed mushrooms. We came back a couple of times in our 4 day stay.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old West Alive and Well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We loved all of the wonderful places to eat and historic buildings... and the location of the town nestled in the mountains is incredible!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Downtown Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Downtown Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.