We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Inn near the Heart of Durango” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gable House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gable House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Gable House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
805 E. Fifth Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #4 of 15 Durango B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Historic Inn near the Heart of Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Gable House in Durango in July of 2013. After some small confusion over which room we had booked (a misunderstanding which Heather more than generously resolved), we settled in for a delightful visit in this charming Western town. Gable House is a huge, historic residence in a quiet, tree-lined neighborhood only a few blocks from the main walking part of town. There are many restaurants and shops nearby and the train station is about 10 minutes away. Heather serves excellent breakfasts in her spacious, sunlit dining room. She is also eager to help and has a number of tips and recommendations for making your stay in Durango comfortable and fun. We were there in July and it was apparently unseasonably warm that week, but our room on the second floor stayed reasonably cool. There was also a small balcony on which we would sit in the evenings and read. Despite the heat, we enjoyed the town and would consider going back, perhaps in the spring or the fall. And we would stay at Gable House again without a doubt. Thanks, Heather, for some true Western hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
59
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Gable House B&B. Our room and en suite BR were very clean. The bed was really comfortable. The location was quiet and very well situated to take in Durango by foot...only 10-12 mins to the train station. Heather was very friendly, helpful with recommendations for dinner and provided very good breakfasts. If we are in the area again we will stay at Gable House.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here. We had a king bed room on the third floor. There is a nice room to play games, watch TV or check email. There is a lovely balcony to enjoy your wine and watch the sunset. It also has a lovely lawn area outside as well. Heather is an excellent innkeeper. The breakfasts were excellent and she is very helpful in telling us great restaurants to go. There is wireless Internet in each room. We will definitely go back and stay with Heather for a longer visit. Look no further for a clean, quiet and good value place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can't climb a couple flights of stairs, this place is not for you. Also, I could not dele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Gable House for 3 nights and were made very welcome by Heather, our 3rd floor room was lovely with private bathroom, and the breakfasts were delicious and healthy.
Heather was very helpful with dinner recommendations and knowledge about Durango.
The house is delightful, filled with antiques etc and a joy to return to each day. It was within a few minutes walking distance of shops and restaurants and the neighbourhood was very quiet on an evening. Would definitely stay again if returning to Durango.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had lived in Durango during my collegiate years and had dreamed of staying at the Gable House when I grew up. So when booking my stay for my new wife and me on our mini-moon, I had high expectations.

Well Heather and the Gable House far exceeded our expectations. We felt at home from the beginning of our stay. The room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were tasty and healthy, and Heather was outstandingly hospitable.

My wife promptly announced to me: "Every time we come back to Durango, we will be staying at the Gable House." Well you know, happy wife, happy life. Luckily, heather will have us covered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Heather loves her home and people. Her home reflects this. Everything is clean, comfortable and spotless. She is interested in everything you want to reveal about yourself. It was a hike to the 3rd floor; but the prize was a private bathroom. Breakfast was delightful original homemade cooking. The sadness was that I could only stay 2 nights - this trip.
This was my first experience to stay at a bn'b. Now I do not want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

When we arrived at the Gable House, Heather welcomed us warmly and led us to our room on the third floor. The room was immaculate and nicely decorated. Since the weather was a bit cool, she made sure we had an extra comforter for the bed (which we did not actually need). The neighborhood was quiet and a few minutes walk from the main street with many restaurants and shops. Heather suggested a place for dinner which we very much enjoyed. She also alerted us to a bargain shopping opportunity at a store that was having a going out of business sale.
When we arrived, Heather told us that she was awaiting word about the imminent birth of her first grandchild in Cheyenne, WY. While the birth did not occur while we were her guests, it is worth noting that her excitement about her first grandchild in no way interfered with her attentiveness to us.
She prepared a wonderful breakfast and visited with us while we ate.
We will definitely stay at the Gable House if we visit Durango again.

Room Tip: It seems to me that all the rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gable House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 805 E. Fifth Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gable House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.