We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hated to come home after staying at the Gable House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gable House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gable House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Gable House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
805 E. Fifth Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #5 of 16 Durango B&B and Inns
Parkville, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We hated to come home after staying at the Gable House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed two nights in this lovely historic mansion and loved every minute! Heather is a gracious hostess who shares her home and knowledge of the Durango area with you. She is a wonderful cook who prepared delicious breakfasts for us to fit our schedule. We had a lovely room with its own porch where we could relax at any hour of the day or night. We love the Durango area with its fabulous history, scenery, art, and dining. Staying at the Gable House made us love Durango even more. We can't wait to go back! Kathy & Ron from Parkville, MO

Room Tip: We had a big room on the 2nd floor with a private bath and its own little porch. Perfect for us! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
58
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meeker, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast, and if they are all like The Gable House we'll look for them before ever looking for a motel room again!! Heather was a delightful hostess.The historic house was wonderful to wander around and see the craftsmanship. The rooms were spacious, clean, and well organized. There was ample balconies for just sitting, and the décor was nice. The rooms were of adequate size and were comfortable as were the beds. The bath's were very clean and nice. The breakfasts were very enjoyable with a generous serving. The proximity to town was just another plus as the walking distance and not having to fight parking downtown was a benefit to staying in this very enjoyable B&B. Thank you so much. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Gable House and enjoyed every minute. Heather is a warm and welcoming hostess to her historic home-and we WERE at home all week!!! Beautiful home, clean,quiet,relaxing and loved the porches. We had a sunny room with a full bath just outside the bedroom that was perfect in all ways. The porch outside our room with the American Flag waving was delightful to spend time with our coffee,tea or a book. The garden is lovely with lots of places to sit and hear the birds and the fountain. Breakfasts were yummy, great recipes, and lots of it. Wonderful farm fresh eggs. A lovely tree lined quick walk to the town with friendly people along the way. We will be back. I miss you Heather, John and Annette

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Not only is the home historic and so very lovely, our hostess, Heather, was warm and welcoming and treated all her guests to the most delicious breakfasts. The Gable House is a place where you can truly relax. We hope to return again; I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Make this your hotel choice; your will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a wonderful treat. A friend and I spending a couple days in Durango, to relax and explore the town. This was the perfect spot. We had a lovely room, comfortable and full of charm. Heather could not have been more welcoming and served wonderful breakfast - different every day, but all wonderful. Heather encouraged us to explore the house, which is grand and every room has a unique charm - AND absolutely spotless. I don't know how she does it but it was immaculate.
We enjoyed evening on the balconies and then walked to town (just a few blocks) and enjoyed wonderful food every where we went.
Just ideal, and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I have had the pleasure of many trips to Durango and the surrounding areas, and have stayed in several locations. But none was as delightful as the Gable House.
Not only because of it's location close to historic main street, the train depot and riverwalk, but of the house itself and it's wonderful hostess and owner Heather.
The house is warm and inviting with lots of personal touches, the gardens are lovely, it is peaceful and a great way to decompress after driving up from Phoenix to get away from the heat for a few days.
Heather's personal attention to her guests makes you feel like you are a part of her extended family. And her breakfasts were amazing, definately bring your appitite, you will not be disappointed by the huge and delicious meals she prepares. She also makes sure to work her meals around your time schedule.
There is alot to do around Durango and the surrounding areas and Heather is very knowledgable and helpful in making suggestions of things to do, dining places to go and current attractions in the town.
I highly recommend the Gable House and look forward to our next opportunity to visit.
Doug and Sherry, Phoenix, Az

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Having completed two of our three week vacation in areas near Moab Utah, Page Arizona, and Mesa Verde NP Colorado, we were more than ready for some well deserve comfort. We planned a 3 night stay at The Gable House Bed and Breakfast in Durango, Colorado to decompressing prior to heading home. Upon arriving in Durango we stopped for “brunch” downtown. The fish tacos were nearly as good as mine.

We then went to The Gable House to check-in and were greeted by our very gracious and unassuming hostess (owner) Heather. What a great looking house! More awesome than viewed on the internet, and larger than imagined. Heather showed us around the main floor, which has a huge kitchen, a cooks dream, and allowed us to glimpse inside a few of the other rooms on the way to ours. It immediately became apparent this home is well maintained and loved; from the Victorian outer, hardwood floors and wood trim, to Heather’s personal touches.

Our room was spacious, modestly furnished with classic pieces and most importantly comfortable and relaxing, and included a private bath. As we made plans for the evening and upcoming days we enjoyed a bottle of wine (free with the Trip Advisor wine voucher) on the nice second story balcony you see above the front entrance! We were there! Definitely a memorable experience. Breakfasts were equally as memorable, and served at a time to fit our schedule. We enjoyed sharing our vacation experiences at breakfast with Heather and visited some of the places she suggested. Durango is a fabulous southwestern town, and its only a 5-10 minute walk from The Gable House. If you are in this area I recommend a relaxing stay at The Gable House...Lee and Sue-Des Moines, Iowa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gable House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 805 E. Fifth Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gable House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.