We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durango Gable House. Worth your effort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gable House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gable House Bed and Breakfast
805 E. Fifth Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #4 of 16 Durango B&B and Inns
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Durango Gable House. Worth your effort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A comfortable and elegant home, the Gable house became our 'evening of relaxation' earlier this month during a week long road-trip through the 'old mining commuities' of Colorado.

A tasteful and exquisitely maintained location, Heather (the owner/proprietor) delights in ensuring the accommodations provide all that is needed to ensure a peaceful and memorable evening in the Colorado Rockies. Durango has numerous opportunity for 'getaway' adventures. The Gable House provides not only an excellent location (walking distance to downtown) but also a quiet and well-appointed home that ensures you are well rested and 'up and ready' for the next event. A surprise desert presented while enjoying wine on the balcony with friends was very well received. :-)

Given the opportunity, we'll happily visit again.

Thanks Heather!

Dan T.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
51
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Hills, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

If you're staying in town, might as well be walking distance to main street. The gable house is a short walk to restaurants, the train and all the downtown attractions. The rooms are warm, bright and comfortable and Heather is a wonderful host.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was my third straight year at the Gable House and it gets better each year (if that is possible). Heather, our host, and her great partner Michael will make your stay be just like home, without the worry of home chores. The Gable House is luxury, in the most simplest of settings. It is awesome and a must place to stay when you travel to Durango. If you're not sure what to do, Heather or Michael can offer suggestions and plan your day trip. They know all the great places and things to do. The Gable House breakfast is wonderful, the hospitality top-notch and while I'm not visiting, you can spend time on my second floor porch. Now that is a relaxing place to enjoy some quiet time and cocktails.

Room Tip: All the rooms are just beautiful and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I feel very fortunate to have found this lovely B&B and its owner, Heather, in my recent travels to Durango. This Victorian home is impeccably clean and well appointed in every way without being overdone and flowery as so many Victorians are! The gardens and outdoor space are as and inviting as the inside. The beds are extremely comfortable, the bedrooms and baths are cozy and the linens are top notch and met the approval of this linen-snob :-) Heather treats her guests like royalty and I checked out two days later with a new-found friend. I echo the other reviewers comments on location as well - it couldn't be more convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Home was great... clean, very well maintained and striking architecture. Our room was comfortable and private. Heather was a great host, tasty breakfasts and conversation. House is an easy walk to downtown. Loved Mesa Verde.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at the Gable House was a pleasant experience. Heather, the owner, is so charming and will welcome you into her home graciously. The beds and linens were very comfy. The entire property is well maintained and extremely clean. I'd highly recommend staying here when in Durango.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This B&B is one of a kind in Historic Downtown Durango. Located within walking distance of all of the great shops and downtown activities, you never need to use your car unless you want to get away for hiking and sightseeing the Southwestern Colorado Mountains and Four Corners Monuments and National Parks. Heather is a great hostess, and makes your stay a pleasurable and memorable one. I highly recommend giving this place a try when visiting Durango. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gable House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 805 E. Fifth Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gable House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gable House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list