We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YES!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
35130 US Highway 550 N, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Durango B&B and Inns
ct
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“YES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Although this B&B is about 10 miles out of Durango it is well worth the stay. A peaceful location with hummingbirds and other feathered friends coming to visit the bird feeders around the property. We even say an elk in the woods near the parking spot. What makes it so special is the hosts. Each evening there is a dessert set -up and everyone sits around the table chatting. In the morning the breakfast is tasteful and beautifully presented.The rooms are comfortable. I wish we had more time just to swing in the hammock and take a day off from traveling.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are on the first floor, others are downstairs in what some people would consider o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
234
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We loved staying here for a number of reasons, but above all, Walter and his staff made us feel so welcome. We really want to come back again.
What was so great? In no particular order:
The breakfasts were big and yummy and served on a huge deck out back overlooking lush beautiful park-like setting with an awesome view of mountains.
The deck was visited by numerous hummingbirds and other feathered creatures. I felt like I could sit and watch those hummingbirds all day.
Walter had great suggestions about hikes and other activities in the area.
Downstairs the fridge was stocked with water, soda and locally brewed beer. Wow!
Home baked cookies and fresh fruit set out every day.
Nightly dessert provided tasty treats and extra opportunities to socialize with other guests.
The property is located in a beautiful country setting outside of town. Some visitors could find the 15 minute drive into town inconvenient, but we loved the tranquil setting away from the hustle n bustle and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I spent four nights here in July 2014. This place is wonderful. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Walter makes fabulous breakfasts, and they also serve awesome desserts in the evening. Assuming the weather cooperates, and meals are served on the deck overlooking the Animas river valley. The rooms are nicely appointed and the beds are very comfortable. I cannot say enough nice things about this B+B.

Room Tip: We were in the Early Bird room, and since it is right under the kitchen, you will be awake with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We also booked this B&B based on TripAdvisor recommendations. We are so glad we did! Walter and Jodi are terrific hosts and go out of their way to make your stay special. The room was spacious and comfortable. Walter's breakfasts are to die for! Each evening is capped off with a fabulous dessert (also made by Walter). It was very enjoyable and relaxing sitting on the back deck with the other guests in the evening, getting to know them and savoring that evening's special dessert. Walker and Jodi also provide all those little details that put our stay over the top, (such as homemade cookies to take with you on your hike, maps and knowledge of the area to help you have the best experience). Thanks for the wonderful stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I only just realized I did not write a review for the Country Sunshine B&B for our visit in May 2013. This in no way reflects on the wonderful experience we had there and we wish to give credit where credit is due. It is no surprise to us why they recently won a TripAdvisor travelers' choice award. My wife and I stayed here over our wedding anniversary in 2013. The B&B is located just a few miles North of Durango off the main highway. Jodi and Walter are two of the friendliest hosts we have ever encountered at a B&B and they make you feel like friends who have just dropped in for the night. Their B&B is unassuming, but inviting. It is very nice, well taken care of, green grounds, and one feels right at home there. The dining area draws one to sit and hang out, meet and converse with strangers, and enjoy one of Walter's evening desserts. Two other guests we met while staying at the B&B were from the town we lived in before we moved to Colorado a number of years ago and they worked at the same hospital my wife did! Small world! One gentleman and I stayed up well into the night one evening talking quietly in a great conversation at the dining room table while enjoying a nightcap. As others have said this B&B is a bird watcher's haven and it is true. I was even able to capture some good photos of a couple of birds Jodi had been trying to get and we downloaded them onto her laptop. We stayed in the Pine room (one of the smaller accommodations) I believe and it was very clean, very comfortable, and we both slept well. We enjoyed the quiet so much we never turned on the T.V. during our stay. The house is very quiet and peaceful at night though you might run into the resident kitty who normally keeps out of sight. Walter and Jodi put together a classy breakfast. We really enjoyed the Blueberry Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes one of the mornings we were there and they can print out the recipes for you. We rode the Durango & Silverton train and they were very helpful in getting us oriented beforehand, making suggestions, checking the weather on their iPad for us, and they even started breakfast a little earlier to accommodate the train schedule. On our anniversary we found a Happy Anniversary placard on our bed! A nice touch. I have been reading comments from others and so many people experienced many of the same pleasures we did in staying with Jodi and Walter--darn, we'll have to catch the bonfire on a future visit! I did not include any pictures since there are plenty from other reviewers. There is no question that any time we plan to stay in the Durango area we will be making reservations at this very, very pleasant B&B. Our hats off to Jodi and Walter!

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed nice with adequate window coverings. However, if you are sensitive to sunli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked this B&B based upon the wonderful reviews here on tripadvisor, and they were not wrong. Wonderful hosts and a great property. We were late getting in due to driving from Flagstaff, but they were waiting and ready for us even though we arrived late. The breakfast was out of this world and so enjoyable sitting on the outside deck with breath taking mountain views in the background. We had never been to the area, so Walter gave us directions on were to go and what to see. Take the drive up to Ouray, it's well worth it.

A fantastic experience and we can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Thank you Walter, Jodi & Kristyn for your warmth and kindness toward us once again! Thanks for lending us bikes, showing us Potato Lake and for the amazing Chocolate Torte recipe. ;) Country Sunshine makes me smile. (:

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast

Address: 35130 US Highway 550 N, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Country Sunshine b&b
Country Sunshine Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.