We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jodi & Walter are the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
35130 US Highway 550 N, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Durango B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jodi & Walter are the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

We have stayed a B & Bs all over the US and Canada, and Country Sunshine was the best. Jodi and Walter go out of their way to make you feel at home, and their breakfasts are fantastic. They introduce you to Durango and help with suggestions of things to do and great restaurants. We loved staying there and look forward to going back.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
74
239
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuqueruqe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

They ran my credit card without permission before we even stayed there. We booked for May 9 and we were charged on April 23. Today is the May 1 and I only noted the charge on my bank statement last night. They are now unwilling to reverse the charge and so I'm out over $100 dollars. I paid for a stay without actually staying there.

Keep in mind that if you book here it's for keeps. I'm trying to get the help of the Colorado AG's office. We'll see how it goes. BUT I would not at all recommend this place as they will grab your money as soon as they can and offer you a gift certificate instead of a refund. Poor customer service and I'm out $100. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theaustrian, Owner at Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 6, 2008
Despite the fact that at the time of booking on 4/22/08, you were notified of our deposit and cancellation policy verbally over the phone and written via e-mail, you still demanded the money back on May 1st when you cancelled. Your date of arrival was to be on May 9th. Against our policy, the day you cancelled on May 1st at 4.40pm, we immediately credited back your Mastercard your full deposit minus $15 cancellation fee. Please do not spread misinformation over the internet.
Our cancellation policy is very clear. It is as follows:
An advance deposit of one night's stay is required at the time of booking. If cancellation occurs two weeks prior to your arrival date, a full deposit, less $15 cancellation fee, will be refunded. If cancellation occurs within two weeks of your arrival date, a gift certificate will be issued in the amount of the deposit, minus $15 cancellation fee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

It shoud be a crime if someone comes to Durango and does not stay at the Country Sunshine.

Stay # 4 for us. How can we write enough good things about the Country Sunshine and the two terrific owners, Walter and Jodi. We are fully convinced that there is no other B&B in the US that can even come close to this place. This includes the #1 rated B&Bs in Crested Butte, Taos NM, Frisco/summit country CO and Steamboat. We have stayed at well over 20 other highly B&Bs and there is no comparrison. In fact, we are often disappointed because The Country Sunshine has become the benchmark for a 5 star experience. Opps, we mean 6 STAR experience!

Food - The best breakfast anywhere. Sweet potatoe waffles was Walter's new addition to our most recent stay in addition to bananas foster for desert. Quality seems to get better every time we come. Most places do about the minimal to maintain their level of service to their guests. Walter and Jodi seem to actively search for ways to improve upon perfection. And then they go and do just that - improve upon perfection.

Friendliness - we have a hard time thinking about Walter and Jodi as the owners. They are so kind and fun to chat with that we prefer to think of them as friends. We speak about going back to see Walter and Jodi - not going to Durango.

We are heading back for stay #5 this May - looking forward to Walter's oatmeal blueberry pancakes before the iron horse classic.

Take it from two people originally from NYC who are very hard to please - this place is the best. If you can't find happiness at the country sunshine then you probably can't find happiness anywhere.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

The Country Sunshine is truly the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The location (halfway between downtown Durango and the Ski area) is excellent. The vistas of the wildlife and mountains are a treat. The price is extremely reasonable. We paid $95/night for an off season stay. Could have paid more and still given it 5 stars. Why? Walter and Jodi, the owners make this B&B what it is.

Walter cares so much about the quality of the breakfasts he serves in the morning and the desserts he serves at night that even the presentation of the food was a perfect treat. They are both excellent hosts, who truly care about you and how they can meet your needs.

The rooms and bathrooms are not posh, but they are large, with comfortable beds and very clean bathrooms. My husband and I enjoyed sitting in front of the large downstairs fireplace every evening before bed. It was almost like staying at home (but the service and food is much better!) This is THE place to stay in Durango! Relax and enjoy!

  • Liked — Walter & Jodi, (ok, and the breakfast!)
  • Disliked — loud plumbing (it's an older home)
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We have never stayed at a B&B, and this was a GREAT first experience. It is in a beautiful location, it's a beautiful house, the food was well prepared & presented, and the hosts were very friendly (without being overly friendly). Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here in the summer of 2007. Walter and Jodi are terrific hosts, and walter's pancakes are sublime. The seating arrangement outdoors in the patio, with views of the surrounding mountains was simply spectacular. The rooms are a little small but clean and well maintained. The garden has lawn chairs and hammocks to ensure a relaxing getaway!

The only downside is that the place is a little difficult to find. It is a few miles on the outskirts of Durango and is located well on the inside. Walter was however most helpful with directions over the phone.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast

Address: 35130 US Highway 550 N, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Country Sunshine Hotel Durango
Country Sunshine b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.