We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
35130 US Highway 550 N, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Durango B&B and Inns
Highland Village, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best B & B Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This has to be one of the best bed and breakfasts I've ever stayed. The location was beautiful, the accommodations were wonderful, but the most fabulous part of the stay was our host and hostess. They were charming, helpful, friendly and made us feel enormously welcome. Breakfast was terrific, as if prepared by a five star chef, and dessert every night was a welcome surprise. There were always snacks drinks available, including tea, coffee, wine and beer. All included within the very reaonable price. We could not have had a better time. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, choose one of the three rooms on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
235
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New London, NH
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have enjoyed the amenities of many B&Bs but Country Sunshine was outstanding.
Breakfasts were tasty (as expected) but the extra efforts made by Walter and Jody were what really impressed us: warm chocolate chip cookies each afternoon, special desserts each evening
(bananas flambe and creme brulee), plus a refrigerator stocked with beer, wine and soft drinks,
Rooms had character and were very clean. Conveniently located 10 miles outside Durango.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Country Sunshine B&B was great place to stay while enjoying the fall colors of the Durango area. Clean, comfortable, and a friendly atmosphere . The host were helpful with planning our days and Walter's specially prepared breakfast and deserts were fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast for 5 nights, Sept.27-Oct 2. My first impresssion was the owners and hosts, Walter and Jodi. They greet you at the door and provide a tour of this lovely B&B. The bedroom accomodations are wonderful and also provided is a fully stocked refrigerator available 24/7 that also includes beer and wine. There are a couple of sitting areas in the lower level with a TV area. Wifi was easliy accessible. Walter makes a nightly desert that the finest hotels would be envious of, not to mention the never-ending freshly baked cookie supply. The breakfasts are first class. Walter gives out his recipes free, which most great cooks would never do! I have NEVER been fed such wonderful food in the quantities provided at another B&B, and we've been around the world. I think I gained 10 pounds! The deck is an awesome place to relax for breakfast (or anytime) with
a great vista of the mountains just north or Durango. If you are so led, climb the mountain side
directly across the highway for a great view of the Durango-Silverton train as it comes around a corner. It's a bit of a hike, but WELL worth the experience. Walter and Jodi are very entertaining and some of the nices folks I have encountered. Do yourself a favor and stay at
this awesome bed and breakfast. You will NOT regret it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decatur, tx
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We chose this B&B for ratings and it was quiet and near the animas river. Jody and Walter will do what ever is needed to make your stay one so great you will want to come back just to stay with them. I find it difficult to write any better commentary that the previous reviewers. For seven years and going on 8 Jody and Walter have near perfection in their interpretation of what a B&B is! The number of guests who return is all the recommendations needed. Please go out on the deck and enjoy the birds and squirls as Walter keeps them fed well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Country Sunshine exceeded our expectations in every way. Walter and Jodi made us feel welcome and at home immediately. The room was clean and larger than expected with a private bathroom. Soap, shampoo, lotion, conditioner and lip balm were provided.
The setting is beautiful and peaceful, with many birds and chipmunks to view from the wonderful wrap around deck. There were several seating areas and hammocks outside by the river, along with a firepit and hot tub. Towels and shoes were provided for hot tub use and robes in the room.

They have 2 dogs and a cat to help fill the pet fix for those traveling without their pets. The home has several seating areas with a TV and a beautiful, large stone fireplace. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, spiced cider are provided on the main level, and downstairs there's water, soft drinks, beer and wine.

The setting and accommodations were outstanding but the food was even better! There were homemade cookies out and every evening a different gourmet dessert was available. White chocolate mousse with a tart cherry sauce and pumpkin tort for our two nights. Both were worthy of being served in any upscale, gourmet restaurant. That being said, the breakfasts were even more amazing. Pecan pancakes, fresh fruit cups, and sweet potato waffles along with sausage and bacon were delicious. The guests were still raving about the potato pancakes from the morning we arrived.And the topper is that Walter provides copies of his recipes, along with maps and info about area attractions.

Country Sunshine is a great value for all that is provided along with two of the nicest people you'll want to meet.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by sounds of people walking above you, take a room on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Jodi and Walter are not the normal B&B. I will name a few things that stood out. They walk out to great you at the door, give you a nice slow tour of the entire place, things like the hot tub and complimentary sandals/slippers to wear when you go out to the hot tub, beach towels neatly rolled in a basket for the hot tub as well as a dress filled with assorted swimwear for you to borrow just in case you forgot to pack some, complimentary long distance phone usage (as cell service can be spotty in the canyon), chocolate, hard candies, homeade cookies are always around, a table dedicated to area information like maps, full restaurant menus, a binder filled with copies of hikes and things to do that you can grab and take with you, copies of all the wonderful recipies of the breakfasts and desserts that they make, drink station with hot and cold water always available with large assortment of teas, hot cocoa's ect, a frdige filled with complimentary drinks like Wine, local assorted beers, water, soft drinks, a microwave, and dishes.
They are flexible on breakfast, just come up and sit down between 8-10 and they are happy to serve you. You can sit inside or outside on the wonderful deck and enjoy the morning sunshine and watch the large variety of birds that come to eat at the array of bird feeders and chipmuncks that gather the seed that falls to the ground .
This was our first time here and we loved it and made arrangements to stay another night a few days later on our way back home. We stayed in the Riverview and the Aspen. Both rooms were great!
They do have 2 dogs and a cat on the property, which we loved. The kitty likes to hang out downstairs. We made it a point to give her attention. They will tell you that if you keep your room door open the kitty will come in. We kept our door open and found it funny that the kitty would come in to say hi and then sit up in the window and watch the birds outside. It reminded us of our cat at home. Obviously if it is not your thing, just keep the door closed and she will avoid you.
We arrived late, after 9pm, but called a few times and they were very kind and said it was not a problem.
It was like coming home or going to a good friends house. All the other guests very friendly on both occasions. Walter and Jodi are always around in the morning and evening and are wonderful to talk with.
Other B&B's simply don't measure up to this! Another B&B, Logwood is on the adjacent property and we also stayed there for one night because Country Sunshine was booked. It was a nice property but wasn't even close to the same.
Overall Awesome!

Room Tip: Aspen is downstairs with walkout basement, nice views, also has a daybed and is larger. The Rivervie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast

Address: 35130 US Highway 550 N, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Country Sunshine Hotel Durango
Country Sunshine b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Sunshine Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.