We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cleanest and Tidiest Hostel in the West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Hometown Hostel

Durango Hometown Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango Hometown Hostel
736 Goeglein Gulch Road, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Trinidad, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Cleanest and Tidiest Hostel in the West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed at many hostels in my traveling life, and in many different continents. This was one of the cleanest hostels out there. Candace makes sure that the hostel is continually cleaned and in good shape. There are four main room with bunk beds, which means that the hostel holds around 32 people. Still, groups usually come in the afternoon to stay and rest, and she makes sure that the bathrooms are not left in a rough shape even after multiple uses of tired visitors.

Candace also maintains the kitchen in good shape. All of the pots, pans, silverware and other cookware were clean, (unlike most hostels and backpackers around the world), and the it was pleasure to cook in such a well-kept and tidy kitchen. For the two nights that I cooked - I even had full use of the clean and large kitchen for myself. The hostel is also right near the local food coop of Durango, which has delicious, fresh and local foods. Candace makes free drip coffee for the guests in the morning.

The clientele often goes to sleep early and gets up early, so there is no partying or wild travelers sitting over some booze and talking all night. This is a quiet hostel for quiet travelers passing through. Candace regularly checks the common room to see if the guests are comfortable. Some of the travelers are bicycle racers and groups that go trekking through the mountains, so they have to get up early. European visitors also stop in for the night.

The price is 30$ per night, which includes everything: towel, taxes, etc. This makes the payments easier.

The only issue was one night of no sleep. This one older man had a snoring decibel level of an 8. I could not get to sleep all night. On the hostel's website, Candace makes sure that snorers don't stay at her hostel, but they come anyway. This is one of the drawbacks to hostels. The prices are better, but there is always some person with a snoring issue.

If you want a clean bed, kitchen and bathroom, and a good priced offer in Durango - which is hard to find in town, then stay at this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
4
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is amazing! My sister & I stopped here for the last of 4 nights on a southwestern Colorado road trip. As if you needed another positive review to get you to come here, here it is. The place is bright, friendly, CLEAN & welcoming. Candice wasn't here when we arrived, but Jane did a great job checking us in & giving us the grand tour. Sheets, towels, wash cloths ALL included. Sweet! A beautiful house with a great upstairs common area & deck. We're heading out & back to Denver in a couple minutes & seriously wish we had another night here. Come to Durango. Stay at his hostel. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hostel is in a really nice spot, close to downtown Durango, and with lots of nice amenities. There's an elevated porch in the back built into the hillside that's a great place to sit and eat or talk. Well-stocked kitchen, walk up computers, a nice living room with couch. Everything is very clean and well-organized. I will definitely stay there again, very impressive facility especially given the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our hostess Candice could not have been nicer. She helped out out with a late arrival in a big storm. I have not stayed at a place like this hostel before, but compared to our friends that rented condos and hotel rooms in the area, the price and convenience for this place could not be beaten. This is a hostel, not a luxury hotel, but visitors will be well cared for thanks to Candice.

Room Tip: Bunk beds, all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Recently stayed in the hostel. First ever time to stay in a hostel so I was kinda hesitant, but I'm certainly glad I choose it. The lady who runs the place is super nice and always made sure I was having a good stay. Within the first hour it felt like a second home for me. I will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welch, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Fantastic hostel. Everything was extremely clean. The overall atmosphere made it feel like a home. Comfortable bunk beds, great lounge area, fully equipped kitchen. Every detail was accounted for, there was even a supply of foam ear plugs available for dealing with noisy sleepers. Three available computers and wifi throughout. Located a few minutes from the downtown area, maybe not walkable, especially in winter, but it's not bad. Candace makes you feel right at home. She's a gem. The whole experience was completely positive. If ever I am in the area again, I will certainly be staying here.

Room Tip: Choice of single-sex dorm or co-ed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was the first hostel I've ever stayed in and I was impressed. The place was meticulously clean and had a great set of amenities. If you need a cheap place to stay in Durango this is it. Whether you need to whip up some food in the kitchen, hang out in the common room upstairs or walk to downtown/Fort Lewis College it's easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durango Hometown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Hometown Hostel

Address: 736 Goeglein Gulch Road, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty lodging in Durango
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durango Hometown Hostel, located 1.2 miles from historic downtown Durango, opened summer 2008. The hostel consists of four dorm rooms, sleeping 6-8 people each. Guests have their choice of a single-sex or co-ed bedroom. Features include security lockers, ample bathroom facilities, a fully equipped self-catering kitchen, three house computers and WIFI. Common areas include an outdoor deck on the edge of a forested hillside, and a cozy living room with a fireplace and library. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Hometown Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Durango Hometown Hostel to your Saves list