We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a bargain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Hometown Hostel

Durango Hometown Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango Hometown Hostel
Save
You added Durango Hometown Hostel to your Saves list
736 Goeglein Gulch Road, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Salida, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a bargain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hostel is in a really nice spot, close to downtown Durango, and with lots of nice amenities. There's an elevated porch in the back built into the hillside that's a great place to sit and eat or talk. Well-stocked kitchen, walk up computers, a nice living room with couch. Everything is very clean and well-organized. I will definitely stay there again, very impressive facility especially given the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomFromColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our hostess Candice could not have been nicer. She helped out out with a late arrival in a big storm. I have not stayed at a place like this hostel before, but compared to our friends that rented condos and hotel rooms in the area, the price and convenience for this place could not be beaten. This is a hostel, not a luxury hotel, but visitors will be well cared for thanks to Candice.

Room Tip: Bunk beds, all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vailaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Recently stayed in the hostel. First ever time to stay in a hostel so I was kinda hesitant, but I'm certainly glad I choose it. The lady who runs the place is super nice and always made sure I was having a good stay. Within the first hour it felt like a second home for me. I will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welch, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Fantastic hostel. Everything was extremely clean. The overall atmosphere made it feel like a home. Comfortable bunk beds, great lounge area, fully equipped kitchen. Every detail was accounted for, there was even a supply of foam ear plugs available for dealing with noisy sleepers. Three available computers and wifi throughout. Located a few minutes from the downtown area, maybe not walkable, especially in winter, but it's not bad. Candace makes you feel right at home. She's a gem. The whole experience was completely positive. If ever I am in the area again, I will certainly be staying here.

Room Tip: Choice of single-sex dorm or co-ed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was the first hostel I've ever stayed in and I was impressed. The place was meticulously clean and had a great set of amenities. If you need a cheap place to stay in Durango this is it. Whether you need to whip up some food in the kitchen, hang out in the common room upstairs or walk to downtown/Fort Lewis College it's easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
346 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hostel sits up a hill with good parking and access. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean!!!! Women Only dorm had 6 beds, bunkbed style, locker and lock included, and big enough to move around in. Bathrooms were co-ed, but each toilet and shower were independent and lockable with plenty of hanging/dressing room.

Common room and kitchen with walkout deck upstairs...with computers to use. Have been to a LOT of hostels, and this one is really nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times. I have never been disappointed with the quality of the experience. Candace keeps the place spic-and-span and is a joy to deal with.
I liked it so much I rented out the whole hostel for my motorcycle riding group trip to Durango for the second year this July. The facilities allow a group to enjoy time together on a trip much better than spreading out over multiple hotel rooms. Eating together and hanging out makes for a really good group experience.
I have stayed at the hostel twice without having the entire facility to ourselves and the experience was still very positive.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank bobebob69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
1.0 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Hometown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Hometown Hostel

Address: 736 Goeglein Gulch Road, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durango Hometown Hostel, located 1.2 miles from historic downtown Durango, opened summer 2008. The hostel consists of four dorm rooms, sleeping 6-8 people each. Guests have their choice of a single-sex or co-ed bedroom. Features include security lockers, ample bathroom facilities, a fully equipped self-catering kitchen, three house computers and WIFI. Common areas include an outdoor deck on the edge of a forested hillside, and a cozy living room with a fireplace and library. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing