We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than a lot of hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durango Hometown Hostel

Durango Hometown Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durango Hometown Hostel
736 Goeglein Gulch Road, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Welch, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Way better than a lot of hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Fantastic hostel. Everything was extremely clean. The overall atmosphere made it feel like a home. Comfortable bunk beds, great lounge area, fully equipped kitchen. Every detail was accounted for, there was even a supply of foam ear plugs available for dealing with noisy sleepers. Three available computers and wifi throughout. Located a few minutes from the downtown area, maybe not walkable, especially in winter, but it's not bad. Candace makes you feel right at home. She's a gem. The whole experience was completely positive. If ever I am in the area again, I will certainly be staying here.

Room Tip: Choice of single-sex dorm or co-ed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
4
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was the first hostel I've ever stayed in and I was impressed. The place was meticulously clean and had a great set of amenities. If you need a cheap place to stay in Durango this is it. Whether you need to whip up some food in the kitchen, hang out in the common room upstairs or walk to downtown/Fort Lewis College it's easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hostel sits up a hill with good parking and access. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean!!!! Women Only dorm had 6 beds, bunkbed style, locker and lock included, and big enough to move around in. Bathrooms were co-ed, but each toilet and shower were independent and lockable with plenty of hanging/dressing room.

Common room and kitchen with walkout deck upstairs...with computers to use. Have been to a LOT of hostels, and this one is really nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times. I have never been disappointed with the quality of the experience. Candace keeps the place spic-and-span and is a joy to deal with.
I liked it so much I rented out the whole hostel for my motorcycle riding group trip to Durango for the second year this July. The facilities allow a group to enjoy time together on a trip much better than spreading out over multiple hotel rooms. Eating together and hanging out makes for a really good group experience.
I have stayed at the hostel twice without having the entire facility to ourselves and the experience was still very positive.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

This place is the bee's knees of Hostels. The owner Candace is overly accommodating, the hostel is incredibly clean and spacious, and the location is very hard to beat. Thanks again for accommodating our very large group!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

18 of my closest ski buddies rolled through Durango and stayed at the Durango Hometown Hostel. I have been on too many ski trips to count, but never have I been more happy with the accommodations as I have here. The kitchen, beds, showers, common area were all clean and very well taken care of. Candace takes great pride in taking of every detail and even better care of those staying under her roof. Do yourself a favor and call Durango Hometown Hostel when you are thinking about traveling and staying in Durango. I know I will again.

Room Tip: not a bad room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here for new years eve night 2011, which was great for 1) access to the charming downtown festivities and 2) easy access to Purgatory. The hostel is very environmentally conscientious in its construction and heat conservation so it makes one happy to stay there. The kitchen is great for cooking and storing your food with yummy coffee in the morning. There is a great community room for enjoying board games and a night by the fire. It also has a sister hostel in Salida.

Room Tip: The women's dorm is great, with the shared bath (immaculate) immediately down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durango Hometown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Hometown Hostel

Address: 736 Goeglein Gulch Road, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty lodging in Durango
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durango Hometown Hostel, located 1.2 miles from historic downtown Durango, opened summer 2008. The hostel consists of four dorm rooms, sleeping 6-8 people each. Guests have their choice of a single-sex or co-ed bedroom. Features include security lockers, ample bathroom facilities, a fully equipped self-catering kitchen, three house computers and WIFI. Common areas include an outdoor deck on the edge of a forested hillside, and a cozy living room with a fireplace and library. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durango Hometown Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Durango Hometown Hostel to your Saves list