We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Old Style motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Siesta Motel to your Saves list
Siesta Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Marlin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool Old Style motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

A quaint little mote; clean and very quiet. Parking right at your door and you can hop the FREE trolley to go downtown and back. Nothing fancy, room is small, but the price is very reasonable. I would certainly stay here again if traveling to the Durango area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    75
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
41
100
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Spent two nights here on our motorcycle trip. This is a well-kept motorcourt, with small but clean rooms and friendly staff. A great alternative to the chain hotels, close to good eateries and on the main drag with free trolley services to downtown stopping 50 yards away. Biker friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I admit to being a hotel snob. I have to admit that this little motel satisfied and exceeded to blow all of my concerns away. The room and outside area was quiet, VERY clean and has a wonderful, quirky personality of the Route 66 motels from years ago. It had all the little touches you could ask for - soap in the bathroom, plenty of towels, local tourist magazines, coffee and other condiments, mini fridge, ice machine, numerous TV channels, phone. Picnic table, grill and chairs for sitting outside in their little garden area. Most customers were older than I am so I would assume that they felt safe and comfortable while there. Its close to the historic downtown area, a grocery store and numerous restaurants. If I ever get back to Durango, I will certainly stay nowhere else but the Siesta Motel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A true throwback to the days of motor hotels. Fun, quirky little place with open space. Rooms were a little dark, but such was the style. Having the full kitchen was nice, since we prefer to cook our own breakfast.
Owners were casual and polite, but not bubbly-friendly. We like it that way. They were happy to accommodate our late arrival, since they were the end of a 12 hour drive.

Everything was clean. Internet was available, but we were in the corner room, which means we were a little far from the router, which means we had to be on the couch to get internet. That was a little issue, but not uncommon.

My daughter will be going to college in Durango, so I think the SIesta will become a regular place for me.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchen or kitchenette...Be sure to arrange it if that's important for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I planned a last minute trip to durango & I found this place on the internet and saw it was very reasonable! The motel is small and very eye appealing, with rich green grass, flowers and a little gazebo in the middle.
Our room was cute & very clean! We got the King Kitchenette.
We will be staying here again! :) highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This family owned business is nicely situated just minutes from historic Downtown Durango and about 45 minutes from Silverton. The room we stayed in was clean and well-maintained. The kitchen was fully functional (with cookware, plates, utensils, etc.) and the living room was comfortable. The owners, who were onsite for all 3 days that we stayed, were friendly and helpful.

The only negative things:
(1) The PARKING IS TERRIBLE & POORLY MANAGED--not enough parking spaces and on 2 of the 3 days we stayed, travelers with trailers used 2 separate spaces (1 for their vehicle & 1 for the trailer) forcing us to park behind the motel;
(2) The A/C UNITS ARE VERY LOUD, especially when they cycle on & off--which occurs frequently at night due to cooler outside temps.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This mom and pop hotel seems well run to me and was clean. It's a vintage era motel on the very north end of Durango. Our stay was pleasant enough and reasonably priced for Durango in the summer time.

Pros: Clean, plenty of hot water and a firehose of a shower, pleasant owners, there is a grill for use, room has a refrigerator, wifi worked well enough but was a bit slow

Cons: There is street noise from traffic on the main road but when the air conditioning was on, it faded away. The only real annoyance was that the motel office phone is linked to an outdoor bell - plenty practical during the day when the staff are out of the office on the grounds but pretty annoying at 10pm when you're relaxing in your motel room. By modern standards, the room and bathroom is a little small.

If you don't want to spend an arm and a leg in the summer at an overpriced chain hotel. This is one of your better bets.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
2.4 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#16 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siesta Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.