We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siesta Motel
Save Saved
You added Siesta Motel to your Saves list
3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE ROOM UPGRADE
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Durango
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Functional and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A true throwback to the days of motor hotels. Fun, quirky little place with open space. Rooms were a little dark, but such was the style. Having the full kitchen was nice, since we prefer to cook our own breakfast.
Owners were casual and polite, but not bubbly-friendly. We like it that way. They were happy to accommodate our late arrival, since they were the end of a 12 hour drive.

Everything was clean. Internet was available, but we were in the corner room, which means we were a little far from the router, which means we had to be on the couch to get internet. That was a little issue, but not uncommon.

My daughter will be going to college in Durango, so I think the SIesta will become a regular place for me.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchen or kitchenette...Be sure to arrange it if that's important for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    55
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
36
75
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I planned a last minute trip to durango & I found this place on the internet and saw it was very reasonable! The motel is small and very eye appealing, with rich green grass, flowers and a little gazebo in the middle.
Our room was cute & very clean! We got the King Kitchenette.
We will be staying here again! :) highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This family owned business is nicely situated just minutes from historic Downtown Durango and about 45 minutes from Silverton. The room we stayed in was clean and well-maintained. The kitchen was fully functional (with cookware, plates, utensils, etc.) and the living room was comfortable. The owners, who were onsite for all 3 days that we stayed, were friendly and helpful.

The only negative things:
(1) The PARKING IS TERRIBLE & POORLY MANAGED--not enough parking spaces and on 2 of the 3 days we stayed, travelers with trailers used 2 separate spaces (1 for their vehicle & 1 for the trailer) forcing us to park behind the motel;
(2) The A/C UNITS ARE VERY LOUD, especially when they cycle on & off--which occurs frequently at night due to cooler outside temps.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This mom and pop hotel seems well run to me and was clean. It's a vintage era motel on the very north end of Durango. Our stay was pleasant enough and reasonably priced for Durango in the summer time.

Pros: Clean, plenty of hot water and a firehose of a shower, pleasant owners, there is a grill for use, room has a refrigerator, wifi worked well enough but was a bit slow

Cons: There is street noise from traffic on the main road but when the air conditioning was on, it faded away. The only real annoyance was that the motel office phone is linked to an outdoor bell - plenty practical during the day when the staff are out of the office on the grounds but pretty annoying at 10pm when you're relaxing in your motel room. By modern standards, the room and bathroom is a little small.

If you don't want to spend an arm and a leg in the summer at an overpriced chain hotel. This is one of your better bets.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Our party had three rooms, and each was unique in decor. Each had a charming, vintage feel. All were clean, quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay, and found it very convenient to get to. Larry, the host was very friendly and welcoming. Gave good recommendations for supper and morning coffee, and made our overall experience memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lisbon, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Reasonable rates for the time of year. Clean...nice owner. Some people pay the big money to stay downtown close to the fun, but they do not realize a free trolley ride brings you there and back every 20 minutes. Stops right in front of motel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our Amtrack train ride arrived late into Albuquerque, NM and the drive was long to Durango, CO. But with that said the Siesta Motel in Durango,CO helped the tired traveling family. We arrived late in the day and they were sold out for the night, but the friendly staff at the Siesta Motel suggested another near by motel. Not only did they suggest another motel, but called them and made sure they would hold a room for us. You do not find this kind of kindness often. Thank you Siesta Motel for your down home hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#10 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.