We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Siesta Motel to your Saves list
Siesta Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Functional and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A true throwback to the days of motor hotels. Fun, quirky little place with open space. Rooms were a little dark, but such was the style. Having the full kitchen was nice, since we prefer to cook our own breakfast.
Owners were casual and polite, but not bubbly-friendly. We like it that way. They were happy to accommodate our late arrival, since they were the end of a 12 hour drive.

Everything was clean. Internet was available, but we were in the corner room, which means we were a little far from the router, which means we had to be on the couch to get internet. That was a little issue, but not uncommon.

My daughter will be going to college in Durango, so I think the SIesta will become a regular place for me.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchen or kitchenette...Be sure to arrange it if that's important for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    86
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
47
110
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I planned a last minute trip to durango & I found this place on the internet and saw it was very reasonable! The motel is small and very eye appealing, with rich green grass, flowers and a little gazebo in the middle.
Our room was cute & very clean! We got the King Kitchenette.
We will be staying here again! :) highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This family owned business is nicely situated just minutes from historic Downtown Durango and about 45 minutes from Silverton. The room we stayed in was clean and well-maintained. The kitchen was fully functional (with cookware, plates, utensils, etc.) and the living room was comfortable. The owners, who were onsite for all 3 days that we stayed, were friendly and helpful.

The only negative things:
(1) The PARKING IS TERRIBLE & POORLY MANAGED--not enough parking spaces and on 2 of the 3 days we stayed, travelers with trailers used 2 separate spaces (1 for their vehicle & 1 for the trailer) forcing us to park behind the motel;
(2) The A/C UNITS ARE VERY LOUD, especially when they cycle on & off--which occurs frequently at night due to cooler outside temps.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This mom and pop hotel seems well run to me and was clean. It's a vintage era motel on the very north end of Durango. Our stay was pleasant enough and reasonably priced for Durango in the summer time.

Pros: Clean, plenty of hot water and a firehose of a shower, pleasant owners, there is a grill for use, room has a refrigerator, wifi worked well enough but was a bit slow

Cons: There is street noise from traffic on the main road but when the air conditioning was on, it faded away. The only real annoyance was that the motel office phone is linked to an outdoor bell - plenty practical during the day when the staff are out of the office on the grounds but pretty annoying at 10pm when you're relaxing in your motel room. By modern standards, the room and bathroom is a little small.

If you don't want to spend an arm and a leg in the summer at an overpriced chain hotel. This is one of your better bets.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Our party had three rooms, and each was unique in decor. Each had a charming, vintage feel. All were clean, quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay, and found it very convenient to get to. Larry, the host was very friendly and welcoming. Gave good recommendations for supper and morning coffee, and made our overall experience memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lisbon, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Reasonable rates for the time of year. Clean...nice owner. Some people pay the big money to stay downtown close to the fun, but they do not realize a free trolley ride brings you there and back every 20 minutes. Stops right in front of motel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our Amtrack train ride arrived late into Albuquerque, NM and the drive was long to Durango, CO. But with that said the Siesta Motel in Durango,CO helped the tired traveling family. We arrived late in the day and they were sold out for the night, but the friendly staff at the Siesta Motel suggested another near by motel. Not only did they suggest another motel, but called them and made sure they would hold a room for us. You do not find this kind of kindness often. Thank you Siesta Motel for your down home hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#17 of 30 in Durango
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#1 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#12 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siesta Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.