We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly the best-kept secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siesta Motel
Save
You added Siesta Motel to your Saves list
3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Certainly the best-kept secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I only stayed one night but the staff were so accommodating. Maureen allowed us to check in late at night and even saved us from missing our flight in the morning when my friend left his phone in the locked room. She sent someone to help right away! And the room was great. Fluffy pillows, individual couches and just fabulous decor. It's not like one of those impersonal modern places to stay. This is family-owned and sweet...definitely a best-kept secret as advertised.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    64
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
37
91
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stay here several times a year and just love coming back. The rooms are always clean, the beds are always comfortable. The owners and management are so accommodating and friendly, if you need something all you have to do is ask. They go above and beyond every time. It's a great location only a mile and a half to the train. Thanks again SIESTA for a wonderful stay you sure know how to run a business, after 39 years you know what your doing! See you again soon!

Room Tip: Such a great motel!! "All the rooms are great"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

DO NOT STAY AT THE SIESTA MOTEL! Made reservations for a one-month stay at the SM, while waiting to move into my new house. Given previous reviews and the motel's website, it looked like a good choice. NOT!!! My room was DARK, DANK, SMELLY, AND NOISY (the motel is right off of the 550). Because of the cheap price, I decided I could brave the poor quality for a month. Had to leave town on a family emergency for a week, and the management knew I was away. When I returned, groceries I had purchased had been cleaned out of my mini-frig and personal items were missing from the closet. I shared my concerns with the management and was met with a DISRESPECTFUL, RUDE, and INSULTING response. I was even accused of lying. INCREDIBLE! The Siesta Motel does not care about its guests or their guests' property. It is FAR FROM A FRIENDLY FAMILY ESTABLISHMENT. DO NOT BE FOOLED BY ITS WEBSITE!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed at the Siesta Motel in Durango in September 2013. I've stayed at different places in Durango before, but this by far was the best. the owners were very accommodating when I wanted to extend, offering the same room if I didn't want to move, if the folks that reserved the room could get a better room at my cost. That was fine with me rather than move! The room was beautiful, the heat was great on a cold night, and the bed was SOO comfortable that I didn't want to get out of it :-) That's saying a lot, because in that area I only want to be outside walkig or hiking. Great location at north end of town, right near a trolley stop. Owners were very nice and personal - I felt like my satisfaction mattered to them, unlike many places I've experienced--especially as a solo traveler! Would recommend it highly and I plan on staying there when I return to Durango.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Rarely can you find such hospitality these days. In a world full of corporations merely trying to take advantage of its clientele, the Siesta Hotel in Durango, Colorado, stands out above the competitors. With an over saturated market of sleazy hotel owners, I have to say this is a new favorite of ours!

The owners are friendly and more than willing to offer quaint rooms and great services, with out the need to coax customers with dried out donuts for continental breakfasts and promises they can't keep.

Here you'll find friendly owners and family alike, who value their customers as much as their customers value them. A cut above the rest indeed!

Thank you for the room Siesta! The rooms aren't free, but your willingness to go above and beyond for your customers is bar none the best we've encountered during our travels.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Cute little older motor court, I loved that we could park right by our room. The office was closed when we arrived, but the owner had called our cell earlier in the day and left us a key. The room and bath were very CLEAN and the pillow bed was great. The room was small with a funky tiny kitchen, loved having a back window. The furniture was tried and worn but functioned. The grounds were well maintained with proper lighting at night. I only saw the owners at check out (it's off season), but they always picked up their end of the phone and were very very helpful. For some reason Durango is an overpriced town, so it was great finding an affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Read all the reviews, so gave them a try. First, the office was locked all the time. Finally got the attention of a grounds person who didn't speak English. They woke up the employee, who unlocked the front door for my check-in. The room was fair, but not roomy. No counter in Bathroom at all. Had to set my toiletries on toilet tank. The towels were clean, but I think they were older than I am. No ice machine anywhere to be found. But the next day is where they really failed. No maid service for room. I was gone all day on a trip. No office open so to get clean towels and coffee for next morning. (I had a 850 mile trip to make. That coffee would have pardoned everything.) I thought the place was abandoned. No TV channel guide. Ran out of toilet paper. Had to go buy some at the store. I will not ever stay here again. If I had known they were not going to service the room, I would have checked out and found somewhere else. I guess I now must ask if there will be maid service when I check in. Their $52 rate was double what it was worth. All I paid for was a bed to sleep in.

Room Tip: Stay away in their off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.