We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - but room had an "off" smell” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siesta Motel
Save Saved
You added Siesta Motel to your Saves list
3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE ROOM UPGRADE
Ranked #7 of 30 hotels in Durango
Modesto, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good value - but room had an "off" smell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just north on the town's main-street, this motel is a "restored" motor-court that has some charm and is quiet in terms of street noise. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Our main complaint was that the room had a strange musty smell like there was a nearby water leak. The rooms are small but adequate. If you want value and don't mind small rooms (that might smell) go for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    53
    23
    13
    7
See reviews for
36
71
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here two nights. The first night was in a room with a king bed that was too soft for me (new mattress, but I prefer a firmer bed). We toured the area for the second day and night and when we came back on the third day, I asked if we could get a room with a firmer mattress. Larry was willing to make me happy and said I could check out Room 20. It had two double beds, but the mattress was very much to my liking! Slept so well that we got a late start the next day, but it was worth it. We also liked the two easy chairs in the room for sitting. It's a short walk to the City Market to buy food if you are tired of eating out in restaurants. The kitchenettes are handy for heating and storing food in the small refrigerator. The free trolley is great for getting into downtown Durango without driving.

Room Tip: Ask for the type of room/mattress firmness that you need for a good night's sleep as they are wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

During a recent family emergency, we were seeking a room for several nights. Owners Larry and Marlene were VERY gracious to fufill our every request. They went out of their way to
make our stay more comfortable, for which we are VERY grateful.
Because we didn't know about the Siesta yet, we stayed the first two nights at another motel. I cannot begin to say what an Enormous difference there was!!! It was Extremely Quiet @ the Siesta Motel and VERY clean and neat!!! Did I mention how Quiet it was?
Finally, we were able to get a Good Night's rest!!!
Thank YOU, Larry & Marlene!!!!
Darrell & Jenny

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Wow! The Siesta Motel. This place is about as cool as it gets. Huge green neon cactus sign, like retro Route 66 vintage, but it’s the real thing. The owners are great and the rooms spotless and furnished with funky authentic furniture. Great bed. I travel through Durango a few times a year and this is my second time here. The price is terrific. Bring two wallets if you want to stay in any of the hotels downtown or disinfectant and a rubber suit if you want to stay at one of the cheapos. I recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are a little bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Priced as high as Best WEstern and other much nicer hotels, but don't deliver on the goods. Not sure at all why they view themselves as "Durango's BEST kept secret"? Beds too soft with Hammock effect, I slept on floor. AC disturbingly loud. Bath fan was horribly loud. Full kitchenette very old and tiny, but functional. Owners not friendly at reception, stricly business. Old room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place has great advertising and looks good on paper and in person...the price is decent as well. The room itself had a refrigerator, was neat, clean, and decorated nicely, albeit small. The outdoor courtyard was clean and neat. Free trolley service is yards away. If we had to do it over again, we would pay $30-$50 more and stay downtown, closer to 'the action'...although my wife disagrees.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the busy highway leading into town (4 miles away) and until late evening road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at the Siesta during our trip out West. Wonderful, cozy place. Definitely felt like staying with friends. The rooms were very homey and comfortable. The atmosphere was very welcoming and we ended up staying two nights. Would definitely stay here again. It's a small place, but if you like a down home type of place this one will fit the bill.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.