We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but very adequate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siesta Motel
Save
You added Siesta Motel to your Saves list
3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Fruita, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small but very adequate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed in a king room was very comfortable bed, clean, shower had great pressure. Was small but cute decor. We came down to ride the train and stayed 2 nights. If your not spending much time in your room was fine. Price a lot more economical than downtown, room was clean and would stay again.

Room Tip: King bed was greatr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    63
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
37
89
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The owner was quite brusque on checking in, not friendly or helpful at all, which started us off on a bad foot. We paid $85 plus tax for 2 double beds, in June. The hotel is on a busy main road with fairly tight parking, there are loads of hotels along this road, we wished we had chosen somewhere else.

The too-soft bed was uncomfortable, with a dip in the middle. There was not enough hot water for two showers and the metal soap dish in the shower looked disgusting. The room was poorly lit at night with only 2 very dim lamps, so bad luck if you want to read. The window did not lock. No breakfast provided, free wifi. Really, a lot of negatives and not too many postiive aspects. There is lots of choice in Durango, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

After reading reviews here I went ahead and booked our two nights in Durango. The process was easy enough even though they use an outside source and don't immediately confirm the reservation.
We found the motel easily since it is on the main drag, but it is an older Motel with very cramped parking in a U-shape. Beware: the parking is angled for driving in from either direction, thus difficult for turning around to drive back out.
Although I started the conversation on a pleasant note, I left the office with a verbal chill and only knowing where to find our room and the ice machine. Giving him the benefit that perhaps he was having a bad day, that was our only trip to the office and I was glad to leave without having to face him again.
We paid much more for this room than for a nicer and larger room in Albuquerque, and got so much less. The toilet paper was like onion skin, so very thin. The towels were new and almost as thin. We didn't use the kitchen and had to purchase our own coffee to use the coffee pot! However, there were two small refrigerators!
With the motto of the Best Kept Secret in Durango, I really expected more, but then again, we heard that same motto referenced at several establishments throughout the small town of Durango.
The landscaping and picnic tables were a plus, however, the tables are placed specifically for smokers. There is NO smoking in or near the rooms.
All in all, we stayed the two nights and slept fairly well, but Durango can keep this secret a secret, thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Booked this motel because of the great reviews on this website. May be good enough for an older couple but not for a young family. Older motel, no pool. Our room (#6) had a kitchen in it which was nice - we used it very little however, but it was the only room available when we booked the hotel that would accommodate a family of 5. No dish cloths to wash dishes with, so I guess it was good we really didn't use the kitchen much. WAY Over priced for the amenities. Our room had two rooms to it, but only one small window ac in the main room. It cooled very poorly - at least they had fans for us to use. We left the ac on when we left to sight see and when we came back it was off again and very hot in the room - took forever into the night to cool the main room off. Our poor children only had a fan and we couldn't even open the windows in the room because there were no screens. Not enough towels in the room for a family of 5. First night we were there, we ran out of TP and no extra rolls in the room so we had to use restaurant napkins. Parking terrible, especially for larger vehicles, like full-sized trucks and suvs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Siesta Motel while seeing many places in Colorado It had favorable reviews and we overall enjoyed it. The price was very fair and it was clean. Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last July and we loved our stay so much we made it back again! The place was still wonderful! CLEAN, comfortable and loved the owners. They had a lot of great recommendations for great places to eat and visit during our stay. Made us feel like family. It was a great vacation and will tell everyone this place is a must stay when you visit Durango. The family owned mom and pop places are so important to support so these gems don’t go away and get lost in the big name business!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my family in the suite, which was nicely laid out with one kind bed in the main room and then a separate room with two twin beds. The kitchen in the suite was a decent size, and I could see myself actually being able to make meals here. The location is too far from town to walk if the weather is bad, but there are free trolleys that run during the daytime that you can catch from near to the motel. The front desk was closed when we got there in the mid afternoon, and we found our keys inside an envelope taped to the door of the main office - not very secure, but then again, no one took them before we arrived and invaded our room. For Durango, which is overpriced in general, this place is a good deal, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.