We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Siesta Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siesta Motel
Save
You added Siesta Motel to your Saves list
3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE ROOM UPGRADE
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Indiana
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Siesta Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Siesta Motel while seeing many places in Colorado It had favorable reviews and we overall enjoyed it. The price was very fair and it was clean. Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    61
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
37
85
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last July and we loved our stay so much we made it back again! The place was still wonderful! CLEAN, comfortable and loved the owners. They had a lot of great recommendations for great places to eat and visit during our stay. Made us feel like family. It was a great vacation and will tell everyone this place is a must stay when you visit Durango. The family owned mom and pop places are so important to support so these gems don’t go away and get lost in the big name business!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my family in the suite, which was nicely laid out with one kind bed in the main room and then a separate room with two twin beds. The kitchen in the suite was a decent size, and I could see myself actually being able to make meals here. The location is too far from town to walk if the weather is bad, but there are free trolleys that run during the daytime that you can catch from near to the motel. The front desk was closed when we got there in the mid afternoon, and we found our keys inside an envelope taped to the door of the main office - not very secure, but then again, no one took them before we arrived and invaded our room. For Durango, which is overpriced in general, this place is a good deal, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed here Sept 14. The owner was cordial and the room was clean and roomy. We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit and paid $98 which was a good price compared to the other chain hotels. There weren't actually 2 separate bedrooms. There was a queen bed in the main room with the kitchenette, sitting room and TV. The separate bedroom had a double and single bed with a TV. The beds were comfortable and the kitchenette had the necessities. We only had reservations for one night and was going to ride the train the next day. The owner allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot the next day so we could ride the trolly to the train station and save the parking fee and hassle. We saw a sign on one of the other hotels advertising rooms for $47, I wander how many people fell for that?? I asked the owner why she didn't advertise on well known travel websites (hotels.com, priceline, etc) and she said they can't afford the fees they charge. As usual, the big chains are squeezing out the small business owners.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was probably the worst night's sleep I've had in years! The king-size bed in #8 was totally shot! I wanted to grab my sleeping bag out of the car and sleep on the floor! The place was clean but the bed was unacceptable. The owners need to spend some money and buy new beds. A sore and stiff back and neck are not what you want when you're on vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Hidden gem if you're looking for basic, no frills, clean, comfortable and inexpensive. Only 23 units with very small parking lot. Room #4 was small, but held a very comfortable, pillow-top, king size bed. desk w/lamp and chair, small upholstered chair in corner, 2 seater bench under the window, one bed side table with lamp. Shower was updated and adequate. Bathroom very basic but clean. Bedroom has older carpet and wood paneling on all 4 walls. Lighting could have been better as was a little on the dark side. In room wy-fi worked well.

We stayed 2 nights. After our first night, we left our car in the motel parking lot and caught the free shuttle to the train station for the Durango/Silverton train ride. The shuttle stop is a few feet past the motel office and we walked there in less than 2 min. It costs $7 to park at the train station, so this was very convenient. The free shuttle was running every 20 min. and dropped us about 1 block or maybe 1/2 block from the train station. Since the motel does not include breakfast, we ate a quick breakfast at the McDonald's next to the train station.

The motel is located just past 34th street, so we did drive about 1 mile to the "downtown" area for meals as the fall free shuttle hours stop early in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
476 reviews 476 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
622 helpful votes 622 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at the Siesta for two nights. We chose it because it seemed to be affordable in what is obviously a spendy and touristy town. We paid $78 per night plus tax and that was the most we paid while on an eleven day tour of southern Colorado where we stayed in seven motels. I searched on Trip Advisor and guide books for affordable places and this was one of the better deals that I could find. When we drove down Main Street we passed two or three others that offered lower rates but I cannot comment on their conditions.
The Siesta is an older mom and pop place but kept in good shape by the owner. When we checked in she was very friendly and answered our questions about Durango. The room was small but clean. No extras were offered including no breakfast. We loved the large cactus neon sign that marked the location but we were disappointed that the sign was not turned on either evening we were there. However, the sign stated, "Free room- just kidding" so there was a good sense of humor.
I don't know if this a disadvantage or not but the motel is at the far northern end of town which makes it about 35 blocks from the historic center of town and the famous train station. Parking in the center of town is a bit of a headache (meters or paid lots). However, during most of the year a free shuttle, the Trolley, runs along Main Street from 7:00 in the morning until 10:00 at night (shorter hours in winter) so if you are taking the train to Silverton you can make the early train or if you are visiting some of the pubs in the downtown you can make it back to the motel safely providing you don't stay out too late.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#10 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.