We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siesta Motel
Save Saved
You added Siesta Motel to your Saves list
3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE ROOM UPGRADE
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Sumter, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed here Sept 14. The owner was cordial and the room was clean and roomy. We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit and paid $98 which was a good price compared to the other chain hotels. There weren't actually 2 separate bedrooms. There was a queen bed in the main room with the kitchenette, sitting room and TV. The separate bedroom had a double and single bed with a TV. The beds were comfortable and the kitchenette had the necessities. We only had reservations for one night and was going to ride the train the next day. The owner allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot the next day so we could ride the trolly to the train station and save the parking fee and hassle. We saw a sign on one of the other hotels advertising rooms for $47, I wander how many people fell for that?? I asked the owner why she didn't advertise on well known travel websites (hotels.com, priceline, etc) and she said they can't afford the fees they charge. As usual, the big chains are squeezing out the small business owners.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    55
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
36
77
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was probably the worst night's sleep I've had in years! The king-size bed in #8 was totally shot! I wanted to grab my sleeping bag out of the car and sleep on the floor! The place was clean but the bed was unacceptable. The owners need to spend some money and buy new beds. A sore and stiff back and neck are not what you want when you're on vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Hidden gem if you're looking for basic, no frills, clean, comfortable and inexpensive. Only 23 units with very small parking lot. Room #4 was small, but held a very comfortable, pillow-top, king size bed. desk w/lamp and chair, small upholstered chair in corner, 2 seater bench under the window, one bed side table with lamp. Shower was updated and adequate. Bathroom very basic but clean. Bedroom has older carpet and wood paneling on all 4 walls. Lighting could have been better as was a little on the dark side. In room wy-fi worked well.

We stayed 2 nights. After our first night, we left our car in the motel parking lot and caught the free shuttle to the train station for the Durango/Silverton train ride. The shuttle stop is a few feet past the motel office and we walked there in less than 2 min. It costs $7 to park at the train station, so this was very convenient. The free shuttle was running every 20 min. and dropped us about 1 block or maybe 1/2 block from the train station. Since the motel does not include breakfast, we ate a quick breakfast at the McDonald's next to the train station.

The motel is located just past 34th street, so we did drive about 1 mile to the "downtown" area for meals as the fall free shuttle hours stop early in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
461 reviews 461 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
605 helpful votes 605 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at the Siesta for two nights. We chose it because it seemed to be affordable in what is obviously a spendy and touristy town. We paid $78 per night plus tax and that was the most we paid while on an eleven day tour of southern Colorado where we stayed in seven motels. I searched on Trip Advisor and guide books for affordable places and this was one of the better deals that I could find. When we drove down Main Street we passed two or three others that offered lower rates but I cannot comment on their conditions.
The Siesta is an older mom and pop place but kept in good shape by the owner. When we checked in she was very friendly and answered our questions about Durango. The room was small but clean. No extras were offered including no breakfast. We loved the large cactus neon sign that marked the location but we were disappointed that the sign was not turned on either evening we were there. However, the sign stated, "Free room- just kidding" so there was a good sense of humor.
I don't know if this a disadvantage or not but the motel is at the far northern end of town which makes it about 35 blocks from the historic center of town and the famous train station. Parking in the center of town is a bit of a headache (meters or paid lots). However, during most of the year a free shuttle, the Trolley, runs along Main Street from 7:00 in the morning until 10:00 at night (shorter hours in winter) so if you are taking the train to Silverton you can make the early train or if you are visiting some of the pubs in the downtown you can make it back to the motel safely providing you don't stay out too late.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed at the Siesta Motel for 2 nites during the Labor Day weekend. Per some of the other reviews and because it was the only thing left I chose the Siesta. Our room was of small to average size and our furniture looked new. We liked that the room was very clean. We did not find management as warm and fuzzy as some previous reviews and there were signs everywhere warning you that if you were to accidentally harm something you would be CHARGED!!! One sign OK, 2 signs Maybe, signs everywhere......?
I got a look at some of the other rooms and they were not as nice as ours but I cannot complain about our room. The beds were comfy. Over all we would stay there again because of the price and the cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here with husband, room was clean, except for the dead spider behind bathroom door. Shower stall was VERY tiny, and would not accomodate a larger person. AC Unit in room was very cold, and the beds were pretty comfortable.
Pros: Price
Location
Comfy Bed
Liked the Kitchenette
Clean Towels
Cons: Tiny Shower Stall
Tacky Envelope asking for Tips
VERY Rude Owner (mainly the Lady Owner)
Only allowed to use Ice Machine Sparingly
Limited Parking, and is awkward
The room is not up to date at all, which is to be expected of a mom and pop place. The website stated it had a hot tub, but it did not.
All in all I would stay here again but only for a night or two, and as long as I wasn't planning on hanging out in my room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I hate chains (hotels, restaurants, all of them) with a passion. Was cruising the Main drag in Durango looking for a place to stay and saw the blazing saguaro neon sign and, being from Arizona - there isn't a Saguaro within 500 miles of Durango- I had to pull in. I've stayed there every trip to DRO ever since. 50 couple bucks for a room. They're old fashioned, retro (original?) tile in the shower, clean and quaint. Bring your own shampoo.... My wife wasn't crazy about the place when I brought her there for the weekend. Guess I built up the "quaint" part a little too much. Hey, no frills, no points, no bad breakfast, but clean, quiet and modestly priced.

Room Tip: Be pleasant for crying out loud. Its a tourist town. You'd be sick of them too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#10 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.