We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Clean, Classic Mom & Pop Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siesta Motel
Save
You added Siesta Motel to your Saves list
3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE ROOM UPGRADE
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cheap, Clean, Classic Mom & Pop Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I hate chains (hotels, restaurants, all of them) with a passion. Was cruising the Main drag in Durango looking for a place to stay and saw the blazing saguaro neon sign and, being from Arizona - there isn't a Saguaro within 500 miles of Durango- I had to pull in. I've stayed there every trip to DRO ever since. 50 couple bucks for a room. They're old fashioned, retro (original?) tile in the shower, clean and quaint. Bring your own shampoo.... My wife wasn't crazy about the place when I brought her there for the weekend. Guess I built up the "quaint" part a little too much. Hey, no frills, no points, no bad breakfast, but clean, quiet and modestly priced.

Room Tip: Be pleasant for crying out loud. Its a tourist town. You'd be sick of them too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    61
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
37
85
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

In a word..dismal. Old, wornout and very dated. Overcharged for quality of accomidations. Don't think you would like this hotel unless you are use to 1/2 star properties. Owners are glib and friendly but it goes down hill from there. broken furniture, cramped and really really needs work. Better accomidations all over town for less.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Clean, comfortable accommodations with nice kitchenette. Nice grassy area is available for guests to visit, but is close to a busy street. May want to bring some pliers to adjust the knobless airconditioner. Love that old neon sign!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

what a fab motel in a fab location. myself and 5 of my crew stayed here in june after successfully completing the race across the west - an 860 mile cycle race from oceanside california to durango colorado. lovely rooms, nice and quiet, and on the tram ride into town. we had a lovely stay here. thank you very much.
very happy times.
wolfspider378,xx

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The room was clean and comfortable and the owners, Larry and Marlene, were extremely hospitable. They couldn't do enough to make our stay wonderful.
My wife and I wanted to visit Durango and we invited my parents, brothers and their families (they live in Eastern Iowa), youngest daughter (New Mexico) to join us. Everyone arrived on time and they were treated with the same wonderful service. Larry and Marlene had wine with us one evening and my parents invited them to stay the next time they were in Iowa. Larry and Marlene provided us with a wealth of information about the area, gave directions and recommendations to dining and activities, and they never seemed too busy to help us with a question.

Thanks Larry and Marlene for a wonderful time.
Bruce & Kathy G.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the Siesta Motel July of 2011 for a couple of nights. Loved everything about it from the comfortable quiet room, to the property that is so nicely taken care of. It was so nice to have a shaded area to picnic and a grill on site so we could just hang out and relax. The staff was super friendly and had so many great recommendations from the Bar D chuckwagon which we loved to the awesome places to eat downtown. We will for sure be spending our gateway weekends at the Siesta Motel. Thanks for making it so pleasurable!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

My husband and I just had the most wonderful stay at this darling family owned motel. We were greated warmly by the owners upon check in and were treated like family. The room was clean and very comfortable. Thought we were sleeping in our own bed! This is a must stay. We are already planning our next trip to stay here. It's not a secret anymore we are telling everyone we know!

Room Tip: Ask for the Siesta rooms! Ours was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 3475 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best kept secret in Durango. American family owned and operated since 1975. Located in beautiful Durango CO. For your next great vacation let us take care of all your needs. Clean and comfortable and affordable. ALL NON SMOKING. The Mom and Pop's are getting harder and harder to find, but we are here for you. Larry and Marlene Haddon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.