We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast, Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nini's Taqueria

Nini's Taqueria
552 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5459
970-259-4221
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 158 restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Missouri
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fast, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had dinner here after our day on the train and were looking for something fast. It is a counter service type restaurant. You order at the counter and they will bring it to your table. The food is cooked to order and very good. They also have a nice patio in back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    36
    21
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Big portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Friendly staff, tasty Mexican food, nice patio, decent prices, fast service--a good place for a quick meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not so good this year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were really looking forward to our meal at Ninis. Part of it was our fault....we ate outside and the flies were so annoying But the burrito was almost cold and so unappetizing...too many flavors...some of the included items need to be on the outside..not inside. Maybe we need to try something else..tacos?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding taqueria!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went there for takeout after reading so many nice reviews, and found Nini's to be every bit as good as people say. Knowing it might be our first and last time eating there, we (a couple) ordered a large selection of items, including veg quesadilla, soft corn tacos (veg and fish), and a variety of sides (guac, veg black beans, rice, two types of salsa).

The tacos were DELICIOUS. Nini's tops their tacos with a spicy, vinegar-based slaw that adds a nice burst of refreshing acidity that differs from so many "heavy" feeling tacos. The guacamole was also a winner, as was the mango and habanero salsa. In fact, the only item amongst everything we got that we didn't love was the rice, which was frankly dried out and kind of flavorless. Zia Taqueria has much better lime-cilantro rice!

Rice aside, the food was great and the counter service was brisk, efficient, and pleasant. Everything we got, and it was a lot, came in at ~$35; a couple could easily eat a great meal there for about fifteen bucks.

I would recommend Nini's unconditionally to anyone visiting Durango.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Flavor Flavor Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very similar to Chipolte, but the flavors are better - deeper seasoning and spices. Try the Guacamole - real avocados! Easy walk from any of the hotels on main street. The staff is friendly and fun. It appears that many of the locals come in regularly because everyone was on a 1st name basis. Prices are around / under $10 for a meal and a drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nini's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nini's Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.