We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good this year” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nini's Taqueria

Nini's Taqueria
552 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5459
970-259-4221
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 164 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not so good this year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were really looking forward to our meal at Ninis. Part of it was our fault....we ate outside and the flies were so annoying But the burrito was almost cold and so unappetizing...too many flavors...some of the included items need to be on the outside..not inside. Maybe we need to try something else..tacos?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    25
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding taqueria!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went there for takeout after reading so many nice reviews, and found Nini's to be every bit as good as people say. Knowing it might be our first and last time eating there, we (a couple) ordered a large selection of items, including veg quesadilla, soft corn tacos (veg and fish), and a variety of sides (guac, veg black beans, rice, two types of salsa).

The tacos were DELICIOUS. Nini's tops their tacos with a spicy, vinegar-based slaw that adds a nice burst of refreshing acidity that differs from so many "heavy" feeling tacos. The guacamole was also a winner, as was the mango and habanero salsa. In fact, the only item amongst everything we got that we didn't love was the rice, which was frankly dried out and kind of flavorless. Zia Taqueria has much better lime-cilantro rice!

Rice aside, the food was great and the counter service was brisk, efficient, and pleasant. Everything we got, and it was a lot, came in at ~$35; a couple could easily eat a great meal there for about fifteen bucks.

I would recommend Nini's unconditionally to anyone visiting Durango.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Flavor Flavor Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very similar to Chipolte, but the flavors are better - deeper seasoning and spices. Try the Guacamole - real avocados! Easy walk from any of the hotels on main street. The staff is friendly and fun. It appears that many of the locals come in regularly because everyone was on a 1st name basis. Prices are around / under $10 for a meal and a drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“So Delicious and Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is definitely a step-up from today's burrito place. Their margaritas are surprisingly good and the food was seriously yummy. Don't miss the patio out back - it's quiet, clean and shady. What a great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesomenessedness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great service, great food, low prices, local beer...what more could one want! Go for one of their burritos and chose the condiments and sauces.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nini's Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Nini's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nini's Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.