We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Tempura” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushitarian

Sushitarian
601 E 2nd Ave, Ste D, Durango, CO 81301-5281
970-382-0001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 160 Restaurants in Durango
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Vegetarian, Noodle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Casual dining and sushi bar offering extensive menu through the combination of traditional and contemporary Japanese cuisines from sushi, sashimi, to daily specials. We aim to provide an experience that is fun, as well as delicious and healthy. A varied menu offers something for everyone with vegetarian and allergy-sensitive options. Our well-trained and knowledgeable staff want to help you feel right at home, so please ask questions! Let us provide you with the best of Japanese cuisine and hospitality. Arigato!
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you like Tempura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you like Tempura, you'll be happy here. Tempura shrimp, tempura veggies and yummy tempura cheesecake along with sushi, teriyaki and panko crust offerings are all on the menu. You should find something delecious to please the whole family.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sushi-licious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fresh. Delicious. Creative. Reasonably priced. Good, helpful service. We were there for dinner and took advantage of the Happy Hour specials, with miso soup and a creamy, decadent tofu dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in the Southwest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

In these days of FedEx I rarely worry about the freshness of the fish in a sushi bar. At the Sushitarian the fish was fresh and incredible. That evening's special was salmon belly sushi that melted in the mouth and somehow their fish buyer is able to acquire fresh scallops! My only regret was not showing up later, can't wait to see the place once the sake and beer starts flowing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushitarian, Guest Relations Manager at Sushitarian, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sushitarian! We love when our customers give us feedback, good or bad, because we always want to improve our services. We are very glad you had such a good time and loved our salmon belly special. We did want to let you know we do have beer and sake during all business hours and we have two fabulous happy hours featuring food and drink, 4:30-6pm and 8-10pm. And, Sunday is ALL DAY HAPPY HOUR!

We hope to see you again and thanks for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour. Fresh, healthy food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Happy hour rolls were just $4 and there was a good selection. Can get busy though. The owner told me all the sauces were homemade so no msg. I wonder how many other places can say that? Anyway, my hub and I had a great time. Yummy cocktails, too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushitarian, Guest Relations Manager at Sushitarian, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are so glad you made it in for Happy Hour! We try to offer our delicious, fresh & healthy food at an affordable price and Happy Hour is a great way to do that. Our local customers are very loyal and many enjoy our awesome $4 Hosomaki Rolls and Sushi Nigiri.

And, yes, all of our sauces are homemade so you don't have to worry about yucky preservatives here. Our Teriyaki sauce takes three days to make and trust me, it is to die for.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“Creative Sushi w/ Vegetarian Influence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The atmosphere is modest and rather like a lunch counter type of experience with large windows and sunlight streaming in during the day.They are closed on Mondays, so plan accordingly. The prices are reasonable for a small town in Colorado. Every time we've eaten there the place is busy and everyone is very friendly. I was particularly impressed at how CLEAN and organized the chefs keep their work spaces. The wait staff is very attentive unlike across the street at their competition. This is not a fancy restaurant, but they keep late hours in the evening when other restaurants in the area are closed early. You won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushitarian, Guest Relations Manager at Sushitarian, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for your review. We strive to keep our atmosphere friendly and bright because that's how we like it and the counter style sushi cafe works to that vision. Our servers love our customers and it shows from your review. We will be sure to let them know how much it is appreciated. Also, thanks for noticing how much the sushi chefs take care of their preparation areas, that is there job but the recognition is nice!

You mentioned that we stay open later, too. Yup, and we have Late Night Happy Hour from 8-10pm. It's sort of new if you haven't heard of it, but the menu is really fun and different. We offer a selection of Japanese share plates...I highly recommend the Panko Fried Cod. All plates are $4.64. And don't worry, we always have a great selection of sushi favorites!

Thanks again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushitarian also viewed

 

Been to Sushitarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushitarian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.