We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere and Fantastic Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar's Cafe

Oscar's Cafe
18 Town Plaza, Durango, CO 81301-5104
970-247-0526
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 151 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
146 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere and Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I ate lunch at Oscar's on August 7, 2013 based on its Trip Advisor ranking. The staff was very friendly and we liked the restaurant's décor. There were a lot of people being served but it did not take an unreasonable time for our food to arrive. Everyone was satisfied with the large portions and quality of food. I recommend Oscars and would certainly dine there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    75
    23
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Full of Locals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

it is always positive when an eating establishment is full of locals on a weekday morning. The menu is huge. The food is typical diner food but tasty. there is a AAA right next door so while you are waiting you can pick up maps. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Why is this so highly rated???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Not sure why this is so highly rated (#3??), but we weren't impressed at all. First of all, it's like dining in Mel's Diner. The wait staff is really nice and attentive, but the diner effect in the run down strip mall isn't appealing at all. The food also, wasn't the best. Not bad, but definitely not top rated restaurant material. My kids ordered their Mickey Mouse pancakes, and while they were super cute, the pancake was bland and burnt. Their portion sizes are huge and pricing is somewhat reasonable, but again, the food wasn't that great. I could have eaten at IHOP more happily and for less. Won't be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Worth the Close Quarters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast twice at Oscars during our week long stay in Durango. French toast and Durango scramble super yummy. They did great job accomodating larger groups. Great food and nice little cafe-ish feel. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Vernia, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

In a small strip center in Durango Co. , you will find Oscar's Cafe. We had lunch the first day. Sandwiches were awesome and ample. My husband and shared the Oscar's club with the side of potato salad. Half of the sandwich was plenty for one and the side of potato salad was one of the best I ever had. Other's in our party had the tuna sandwich, chicken fingers and hamburger. All were delicious. Of course were topped off lunch with the banana cream pie and took a famous homemade cinnamon roll to go. The next time we went we had breakfast and the only disappointing thing was they were out of cinnamon rolls. They go fast. The waitress suggested we call in the day before and preorder the roll. I will follow her suggestion next time, it is so worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Oscar's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.