We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family reunion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silverpick Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Silverpick Lodge to your Saves list
Silverpick Lodge
48475 Highway 550, Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Vilonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family reunion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Silverpick Lodge was a wonderful place for our Russell Family Reunion 2014 with over 65 people attending! We rented the entire lodge plus several condos for the week. The Columbine Room was perfect for preparing meals every day and offered plenty of room for visiting. The TV and game rooms entertained kids of all ages for the entire week. We loved it and would highly recommend Silverpick...can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Had 66 members of our family in for a reunion in July. The Silverpick did a great job accommodating our large group and everyone had a fantastic time in the mountains. The lodge provided an exceptional place to host a large family gathering.

The lodge features 13 rooms, and the grounds have a large number of condos available for rent as well.

In the common areas of the lodge, there is a HUGE dining area where we had meals catered by the onsite restaurant and easily accommodated almost 70 people. There was a large game room with pool, ping pong, shuffleboard, and foosball tables for the kids. The game room, dining room, TV room, and the main floor reception areas allowed family to gather and chat in relaxed settings.

The lodge is just an hour down the mountain from Purgatory with a hiking trail that takes you to DMR. You're also just a short drive from Haviland Lake, over the Million Dollar Highway to Silverton, or down to Durango.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

First, let me say that if you are looking for the Four Seasons, this place is NOT for you. What it is, is a lovely little 13-room lodge (and condos) in one of the most gorgeous areas of the world. We had our wedding here and rented out the whole lodge and many of our friends and family members stayed in the adjacent condos.
PROS: It is very convenient to Durango Mountain Resort so some of our friends stayed there to use their amenities (their kids wanted to use the pool!). There are tons of activities in the area that the guests enjoyed (rafting, road biking, mountain biking, sightseeing in Silverton, etc.) so no one was ever bored. There is a large kitchen and common area in the lower floors that opens up onto a nice little patio so we hosted the rehearsal dinner and breakfasts in the big kitchen. After dinner, we made a fire in the fire pit and enjoyed stargazing by the fire. There is a big TV and game room and the kids at the wedding were very entertained. The wedding dinner itself was held in the Sow's Ear restaurant which was SPECTACULAR. The wedding took place in a gorgeous little meadow that you could either hike to or have someone shuttling guests up to. We enjoyed this place so much mainly because nearly all our guests were staying with us in the lodge and condos and we got to spend a lot more time with them than we felt we could have done in other wedding locales. Chris, the owner, was easy to reach when we needed stuff. Our friends and family told us that it was the BEST wedding they had ever been to.

CONS: We have a LOT of dust in Colorado so this place is dusty and we did some cleaning when we first got there. I could see that if you are a neat freak or expect a fancy hotel, then you would be disappointed. Renting the lodge out is more like borrowing a fairly clean home from a friend for a few days. While there was mostly everything we needed in the kitchen, we had to make a couple trips to the store to buy different items. The lodge itself is about 20 minutes from a grocery store and about 30 minutes from Durango, which we were prepared for since we live in this area. But, if you aren't from here, you will want to bring your own food for breakfast and lunch or plan to do a bunch of driving because the restaurant in the lodge is a fancy dinner place. While the service was good, it's not abundant so if you want someone available 24 hours a day at your beck and call, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
224 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

free shuttle to skiing, great. very quiet. clean, stayed in 301 a townhouse. what a wonderful unit. log furniture, great beds. full kitchen. we really loved it in 301. will stay there again this summer we liked it so much.

Room Tip: hot tub is a way, need shoes robe. soaking tub in master
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We just returned from a week's family vacation at a condo we rented at the Silverpick. There were lots of positives and a couple negatives.

First, the positives:

It's a great location -- about 30 minutes from Durango, and only 5 minutes from Purgatory. The setting is spectacular. The condo was comfortable and was a great place to hang out with family. We had dinner one night at Sow's Ear (the restaurant in the lodge), and it was excellent - I highly recommend it.

And the negatives:

Two irksome things. First, the coffee maker in the condo we rented did not work. Especially considering that this was not an inexpensive place to stay, why isn't someone checking to confirm that things like this work? Second, there was no wifi in the condo we rented. The listing on the Silverpick website said that this unit has wifi. When I asked about it at the front desk, I was assured that EVERY unit has wifi. But trust me, this unit did not. It's not the end of the world to spend a week on vacation without internet access, but again this place was not cheap. If it is important to you to have wifi access, you cannot believe what you are told either on the website or by management. Be forewarned.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We rented the lodge for my daughter's wedding from December 26 to January 1, 2014. The owner Chris Wing was wonderful with our group. We did not fill all of the rooms on most of the nights, but we still had a great time at a reasonable price.
The good points: A fully equipped kitchen and dining room downstairs
Three Hot Tubs out on the deck overlooking the mountains
Two saunas
Lounge with large flat screen TV
Laundry
Game room with pool tables
Shuttle service to Durango Mountain Resort
13 bedrooms that can sleep up to 48 people
some minor shortfalls that in no way bothered us, but worth mentioning:
Did not find shampoo in the showers
venetian blinds on windows let in some light from the outside flood lights
On long term rentals maid service cleaning is extra
Checkin is at 4 PM, checkout is at 10 A.M. but flexable

Room Tip: Twilight and Redmountain have fireplaces and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fremantle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We were stuck in the snow and needed a place so popped in to the silver pick. Chris, the owner, was very friendly and gave us a great price and the best room. The kitchen has everything you need, including bagels and good coffee, and a really good vinyl record collection! Have a spa bath under the stars or even in the snow, it's magical. Bed sheets and towels are lovely and the bed is comfy and warm, with a great view through the window.
Plan on coming back for a longer stay for sure!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
26.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
24.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
24.0 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#1 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverpick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverpick Lodge

Address: 48475 Highway 550, Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverpick Lodge, Condominiums and Townhomes offer prime mountain accommodations for Rocky Mountain destination weddings, church groups and weekly or monthly family stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Silverpick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverpick Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverpick Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.