We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot for an intimate wedding weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silverpick Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Silverpick Lodge to your Saves list
Silverpick Lodge
48475 Highway 550, Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great spot for an intimate wedding weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

First, let me say that if you are looking for the Four Seasons, this place is NOT for you. What it is, is a lovely little 13-room lodge (and condos) in one of the most gorgeous areas of the world. We had our wedding here and rented out the whole lodge and many of our friends and family members stayed in the adjacent condos.
PROS: It is very convenient to Durango Mountain Resort so some of our friends stayed there to use their amenities (their kids wanted to use the pool!). There are tons of activities in the area that the guests enjoyed (rafting, road biking, mountain biking, sightseeing in Silverton, etc.) so no one was ever bored. There is a large kitchen and common area in the lower floors that opens up onto a nice little patio so we hosted the rehearsal dinner and breakfasts in the big kitchen. After dinner, we made a fire in the fire pit and enjoyed stargazing by the fire. There is a big TV and game room and the kids at the wedding were very entertained. The wedding dinner itself was held in the Sow's Ear restaurant which was SPECTACULAR. The wedding took place in a gorgeous little meadow that you could either hike to or have someone shuttling guests up to. We enjoyed this place so much mainly because nearly all our guests were staying with us in the lodge and condos and we got to spend a lot more time with them than we felt we could have done in other wedding locales. Chris, the owner, was easy to reach when we needed stuff. Our friends and family told us that it was the BEST wedding they had ever been to.

CONS: We have a LOT of dust in Colorado so this place is dusty and we did some cleaning when we first got there. I could see that if you are a neat freak or expect a fancy hotel, then you would be disappointed. Renting the lodge out is more like borrowing a fairly clean home from a friend for a few days. While there was mostly everything we needed in the kitchen, we had to make a couple trips to the store to buy different items. The lodge itself is about 20 minutes from a grocery store and about 30 minutes from Durango, which we were prepared for since we live in this area. But, if you aren't from here, you will want to bring your own food for breakfast and lunch or plan to do a bunch of driving because the restaurant in the lodge is a fancy dinner place. While the service was good, it's not abundant so if you want someone available 24 hours a day at your beck and call, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

free shuttle to skiing, great. very quiet. clean, stayed in 301 a townhouse. what a wonderful unit. log furniture, great beds. full kitchen. we really loved it in 301. will stay there again this summer we liked it so much.

Room Tip: hot tub is a way, need shoes robe. soaking tub in master
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We just returned from a week's family vacation at a condo we rented at the Silverpick. There were lots of positives and a couple negatives.

First, the positives:

It's a great location -- about 30 minutes from Durango, and only 5 minutes from Purgatory. The setting is spectacular. The condo was comfortable and was a great place to hang out with family. We had dinner one night at Sow's Ear (the restaurant in the lodge), and it was excellent - I highly recommend it.

And the negatives:

Two irksome things. First, the coffee maker in the condo we rented did not work. Especially considering that this was not an inexpensive place to stay, why isn't someone checking to confirm that things like this work? Second, there was no wifi in the condo we rented. The listing on the Silverpick website said that this unit has wifi. When I asked about it at the front desk, I was assured that EVERY unit has wifi. But trust me, this unit did not. It's not the end of the world to spend a week on vacation without internet access, but again this place was not cheap. If it is important to you to have wifi access, you cannot believe what you are told either on the website or by management. Be forewarned.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We rented the lodge for my daughter's wedding from December 26 to January 1, 2014. The owner Chris Wing was wonderful with our group. We did not fill all of the rooms on most of the nights, but we still had a great time at a reasonable price.
The good points: A fully equipped kitchen and dining room downstairs
Three Hot Tubs out on the deck overlooking the mountains
Two saunas
Lounge with large flat screen TV
Laundry
Game room with pool tables
Shuttle service to Durango Mountain Resort
13 bedrooms that can sleep up to 48 people
some minor shortfalls that in no way bothered us, but worth mentioning:
Did not find shampoo in the showers
venetian blinds on windows let in some light from the outside flood lights
On long term rentals maid service cleaning is extra
Checkin is at 4 PM, checkout is at 10 A.M. but flexable

Room Tip: Twilight and Redmountain have fireplaces and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fremantle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We were stuck in the snow and needed a place so popped in to the silver pick. Chris, the owner, was very friendly and gave us a great price and the best room. The kitchen has everything you need, including bagels and good coffee, and a really good vinyl record collection! Have a spa bath under the stars or even in the snow, it's magical. Bed sheets and towels are lovely and the bed is comfy and warm, with a great view through the window.
Plan on coming back for a longer stay for sure!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our daughter was married in a meadow near the lodge in July. We rented the entire lodge for the entire weekend(Thurs., Fri., and Sat. nights). Many of the condos were also rented by guests. The rehersal dinner was hosted by the grooms family in a large room downstairs in the lodge with a huge kitchen and all the appliances we needed. There is also a wonderful game room downstairs which kept the many youngster happy in the evenings. The reception was up stairs at the Sows Ear with wonderful food. We had 176 people attend the wedding and 150 for dinner. The children had a pizza party downstairs. It was so fun having everyone together for the three nights with no worries about driving or being too loud. We also had a room for breakfast. The lodge provides bagels and coffee, but we also brought more food. It is like your own home. No one waits on you. We were responsible for leaving the lodge as clean as it was when we arrived. The management was available, but pretty much stayed out of site. I would highly recommend this lodge for weddings or family reunions!

Room Tip: All 13 room were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I and another couple rented a two-bedroom condo while vacationing in the area. When we first arrived for check in and I was asked about settling the account with the same credit card, I asked about the AARP discount which is listed under Specials. Following is the exact wording on the website: AARP, AAA or ACTIVE MILITARY: Show your membership card or ID at check in for 10% cash back on your reservation. I was told by Chris that it was a good enough rate without that. I felt I was being told "end of discussion."

The kitchen and bathroom were well supplied and clean enough but the carpet was filthy and the dust on the headboard and window sills was disgusting. I even had to kill a couple of spiders. Most of the light bulbs in one of the bathrooms were burnt out as were other light bulbs throughout the unit. The condo description listed Free Trash Removal and Free Towel Service. In both instances, after about three days we removed our own trash and went to the lodge to find towels. The baseboard heaters in the main living area were not working. We were told by a couple that came to change out the light bulbs that the maintenance guy would have to check it the next day. That didn't happen so we asked Chris about it. He said to check the breaker box which we did, but it made no difference and we were leaving the next day so there was no point in pursuing the heater situation any further.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverpick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverpick Lodge

Address: 48475 Highway 550, Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverpick Lodge, Condominiums and Townhomes offer prime mountain accommodations for Rocky Mountain destination weddings, church groups and weekly or monthly family stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Silverpick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverpick Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverpick Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.