We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location but Mediocre Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silverpick Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silverpick Lodge to your Saves list
Silverpick Lodge
48475 Highway 550, Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location but Mediocre Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I and another couple rented a two-bedroom condo while vacationing in the area. When we first arrived for check in and I was asked about settling the account with the same credit card, I asked about the AARP discount which is listed under Specials. Following is the exact wording on the website: AARP, AAA or ACTIVE MILITARY: Show your membership card or ID at check in for 10% cash back on your reservation. I was told by Chris that it was a good enough rate without that. I felt I was being told "end of discussion."

The kitchen and bathroom were well supplied and clean enough but the carpet was filthy and the dust on the headboard and window sills was disgusting. I even had to kill a couple of spiders. Most of the light bulbs in one of the bathrooms were burnt out as were other light bulbs throughout the unit. The condo description listed Free Trash Removal and Free Towel Service. In both instances, after about three days we removed our own trash and went to the lodge to find towels. The baseboard heaters in the main living area were not working. We were told by a couple that came to change out the light bulbs that the maintenance guy would have to check it the next day. That didn't happen so we asked Chris about it. He said to check the breaker box which we did, but it made no difference and we were leaving the next day so there was no point in pursuing the heater situation any further.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayfield, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding and rehearsal dinner at Silverpick Lodge in August 2012. We rented the lodge and many guests rented the condos for the occasion. We were EXTREMELY please with the service and accommodations provided to us from Chris and his staff! The property is stunning and the rooms and common areas are very clean and inviting. It is home away from home. We could not have asked for a more perfect setting for our wedding. Chris was easy to work with in all regards to renting the lodge and to planning our ceremony and rehearsal dinner. We hosted dinner and dancing at the Sow's Ear after the ceremony. The food was AMAZING! The service from George and his staff was outstanding! We highly recommend the Silverpick Lodge and the Sow's Ear for any get away/vacation. It is truly a place to relax and rejuvenate! Thank you Chris and George!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Silverpick Lodge in late September while visiting relatives in the area. We rented a two bedroom condo for a week and we extremely happy with the condo and lodge. The condo was very clean and well laid out for my husband and I and two kids, age 4 and 7. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need and the beds were comfortable.

The grounds and view were amazing and the location couldn't be better for Durango Mountain Resort and as a jumping off point for exploring the mountains, Silverton and Ouray. The town of Durango was a bit of a drive away, but the scenery was beautiful. My kids enjoyed the playground and the game room at the lodge.

The staff was super helpful and even gave us better than Mapquest directions on how to best get back to Denver for our flight. We'll be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent the last part of our honeymoon here on the off-season and this place made it that much more difficult to leave. We booked a condo very spontaneously (one day before) and ended up staying for nearly a week, hiking the nearby trails and visiting downtown Durango. We caught the last of the spectacular autumn colors and were nearly alone at the resort in late September. The apartments are nicely furnished, very convenient, modern, and spacious. The washer/dryer were a lifesaver after 3 weeks of traveling, and the fireplace made evenings very cozy. The restaurant in the lodge was very good if a bit expensive, and the owner of the place was very helpful and friendly (don't be fooled by the gruff appearance). The location was unbeatable for our purposes - hiking, wanting seclusion - and is just a 25-minute drive from Durango if you want to go out for dinner or go shopping. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our daughters wedding was held September 15, 2012, at the Silverpick Lodge in the mountains of Durango--it was a lovely setting and Chris and the workers at the Silverpick did an outstanding job in providing the lodge and rooms for the guests in a clean and well appointed manner. The rehearsal dinner was held in the lower Columbine Room, catered by the Sow's Ear, for 90 plus people, the ceremony was held at the upper site, and the lower site was used for the cocktail and appetizer hour after the ceremony. It was all magical, and we thank Chris and his crew for their help and organization in preparing the sites and making our guests feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Hills, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I have been staying here for 10 years when we visit the beautiful San Juan mountains. The unforgettable views are complimented by nicely appointed rooms, a great restaurant and just a tad of kooky mountain culture.

We were married here in 2006 and everything was magical. The staff helped us make every detail of our wedding perfect and easy, like it should be.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer Lake, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Silverpick lodge for a wedding in August 2012. We arrived four hours before check-in and had been tent camping for six nights. We were grimy from the camping adventure and were very anxious to get showered and start relaxing in our condo. Even though we were four hours early, our condo was already cleaned and ready. The owner (Chris) was more than happy to give us the keys. The Silverpick was a perfect wedding spot with beautiful grounds and a very nice lodge. Our condo had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable. The Sows Ear restaurant served excellent food for the wedding reception. We will definitely be returning to the Silverpick the next time we're in the Durango area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverpick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverpick Lodge

Address: 48475 Highway 550, Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverpick Lodge, Condominiums and Townhomes offer prime mountain accommodations for Rocky Mountain destination weddings, church groups and weekly or monthly family stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Silverpick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverpick Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverpick Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.