We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pulled Pork and Sliced Brisket was delish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serious Texas Barbeque

Serious Texas Barbeque
3535 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
970-247-2240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 160 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Owasso, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pulled Pork and Sliced Brisket was delish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Our kids (18, 21) insist we eat there when we are in town. We ended up eating there twice this vacation. Everything was great except for the cheesy potatoes. They were served not hot. My children thought they were okay. I did not like them. The service was great as usual. A change of taste from the sauce we are used to! We will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    122
    53
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Don't get the local favorite lol unless you are a meat and potatoes person.. Umm I wasn't impressed the meat had a smoky taste :) staff was a bit rude there was a choice of a cpl beers I love barbecue I just think it was overpriced and dry and stay away from the coleslaw

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I visited Serious Texas Bar-B-Q in Durango. As a business traveler it’s nice to have a good place to eat. And for Durango there prices are good. Most of their other place I have tried in Durango are overpriced. I had the sliced beef and it was okay. A little dry this time. I should have stuck to the ribs, they have always been great. I really love there sauce.
Downside was all the flies. They need to do something about that. Continually swatting gets old fast. Even with all this I do recommend them and will visit again. Thanks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Johns, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good BBQ and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was recommended by are hotel for a friendly BBq place. This definitely fit the bill. The staff as friendly and quick getting our orders. We had the turkey, pulled pork and brisket. Allof it was great and had that great smoke flavor. You order by how much you want and the take it to your table. So if you are looking for full service this is not the place for you, but you will miss some great food. It is like eating at a friend house. Also another recommendation I use was most of the people eating there were locals. Would go back.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fast, Friendly, Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The pork sandwich with the cherry chipotle chutney and BBQ sauce is the bomb. My daughter loved her Texas taco with pulled pork, cheesy potatoes and jalapenos in a warm tortilla.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serious Texas Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Serious Texas Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serious Texas Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.