We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ as good as you get in Texas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serious Texas Barbeque

Serious Texas Barbeque
3535 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
970-247-2240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 160 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“BBQ as good as you get in Texas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The owners are obviously from Texas. They are located right on the river. Their sliced brisket and pork ribs are excellent. The potatoe salad is mustard base, not my favorite but my better half likes it. If in Durango and not hungry at the time we will pick some up and take it back to Pogosa Springs. At peak times there my be a 10 to 15 minute wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    125
    55
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good. And bad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Was one of our favorite fun spots to eat. Great smoked meats. Easy atmosphere. Good location along the river. Now prominently displays a sign not only promoting carrying guns but also making a joke of shooting at people in a restaurant. Sorry. This is not OK with me. There are plenty of other good restaurants in Durango where I can also feel safe.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you like barbecue, then...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Serious Texas does real deal barbecue... not fancy, no frills, just great barbecue and some side items that complement well. Great ambiance, love the background music. Serious Texas is on my short list of places to eat in Durango. I eat here often.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good food for lunch. We have eaten at both in Durango. The one off of the 160 has an awesome view , but I think the one off of the N. 550 has better food. Never ate their for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Awesome barbecue--ALL the meats are amazing. Sweet tea..or beer. Combinations. Good Sides as well. Mmmm.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serious Texas Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Serious Texas Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serious Texas Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;