We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very definition of "casual dining"!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serious Texas Barbeque

Serious Texas Barbeque
3535 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
970-247-2240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 166 Restaurants in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The very definition of "casual dining"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's hard to find a more casual place than this.
2 locations in town make it easy to stop in.
Cherry barbecue sauce was a nice treat. We go here when we want no fuss and just a good quick meal. Full of students and families most of the time...that says it all when you're talking value!
Counter service is fast and super friendly. Definitely worth your dollar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    138
    60
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Casual and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

You wait in line, give your order, and your Texas Barbecue is served on paper on a tray. It was juicy, tasty, and finger-lickin' good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Seriously Yummy Serious Barbecue!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife grew up in Texas; I was born in Texas; family still live there and we visit often. We went to Serious Texas Barbecue for our first meal in Durango. Wow! Were we blessed by the staff and by the FOOD! Unbelievably scrumptious! We need some Serious Texas Barbecue in Ohio! Come on north of the Mason Dixon...you can do it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun Environment on Taco Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Go on Friday, get the Texas Taco. It has so much meat and potatoes and cheese. I thought, UGH, at first. But, the thing was great! Also, they have a cherry salsa and a pineapple sauce that is out of this world with the turkey. Great place, decent prices and definitely serious fun!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Food is excellent! The south store is our favorite during the summer when we can eat outside and see the river!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serious Texas Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Serious Texas Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serious Texas Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.