We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it IS serious BBQ!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serious Texas Barbeque

Serious Texas Barbeque
3535 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
970-247-2240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 164 Restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yes, it IS serious BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Let me preface this by saying we are from the Midwest and have not had BBQ in many parts of the country, but we loved this restaurant! (Better than the 2 BBQ chains we have near us!) We were in Durango 4 days, and ate at both of the Serious Texas Barbeque's in town, it was that good! Good prices, great food, relaxed low-key atmosphere, really nice that they featured beers from the local breweries, and both locations have nice outdoor eating areas too. Employees nice and helped us navigate the menu and made good suggestions our first time there. If you enjoy BBQ, don't miss it, be sure to try their signature sauce too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    136
    59
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guin, Alabama
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Barbeque.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

1st timer eating there. Very good food, like their sauce. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Good selection of different types of meat. Order big 6 with all kinds of meat. The beans are great And the cold slaw is good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“GOOD STUFF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We eat here every time we come to Durango. Good BBQ reasonable prices one location has a wonderful patio on the river

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin CA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Menu, Big Portions, Fine Outdoor Seats and River View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place was just great fun! Fast, casual dining perched above the Animas river.
At mid-day we ate on their giant covered patio with a fine view of kayakers and rafters and tubers floating down this calm stretch of river. Tables are set with a wooden box containing a roll of paper towels and a big Texas-sized bottle of a very flavorful, spicy, vinegar based BBQ sauce.

Inside we lined up to order at the counter and to decide whether to eat indoors or out. Our choice was easy on a Summer afternoon.
Their food was pretty tasty and certainly reasonably priced ($6,50 sandwiches, tax included, for example). The Pulled Pork sandwich was especially smoky and delicious. The Pork Loin sandwich seemed not quite tasty or ample for two of us who ordered it, despite its mild pineapple jalapeño sauce. Our favorite was their $5 Texas Taco, with lots of cubed potatoes, cheese and BBQ meat. Wow, big, juicy and full of flavor. It even got better with their table BBQ sauce.
The view was worth it all, plus delicious food! We are fans!

When we returned home, our credit card bill showed an incorrect amount. We called the Manager and he immediately credited us properly. with an apology. We assume this was just an honest (careless) mistake, but appreciated his immediate action.

Advice: Always keep your original receipts when traveling - of course!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“terrific bbq”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we loved this bbq. the sauces are great. and then you have the beans!
we ate here 3 times in the week we were in durango

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serious Texas Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Serious Texas Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serious Texas Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.