We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Barbeque.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serious Texas Barbeque

Serious Texas Barbeque
3535 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
970-247-2240
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #21 of 157 restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Guin, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Barbeque.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

1st timer eating there. Very good food, like their sauce. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Good selection of different types of meat. Order big 6 with all kinds of meat. The beans are great And the cold slaw is good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    150
    92
    39
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GOOD STUFF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We eat here every time we come to Durango. Good BBQ reasonable prices one location has a wonderful patio on the river

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin CA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Menu, Big Portions, Fine Outdoor Seats and River View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place was just great fun! Fast, casual dining perched above the Animas river.
At mid-day we ate on their giant covered patio with a fine view of kayakers and rafters and tubers floating down this calm stretch of river. Tables are set with a wooden box containing a roll of paper towels and a big Texas-sized bottle of a very flavorful, spicy, vinegar based BBQ sauce.

Inside we lined up to order at the counter and to decide whether to eat indoors or out. Our choice was easy on a Summer afternoon.
Their food was pretty tasty and certainly reasonably priced ($6,50 sandwiches, tax included, for example). The Pulled Pork sandwich was especially smoky and delicious. The Pork Loin sandwich seemed not quite tasty or ample for two of us who ordered it, despite its mild pineapple jalapeño sauce. Our favorite was their $5 Texas Taco, with lots of cubed potatoes, cheese and BBQ meat. Wow, big, juicy and full of flavor. It even got better with their table BBQ sauce.
The view was worth it all, plus delicious food! We are fans!

When we returned home, our credit card bill showed an incorrect amount. We called the Manager and he immediately credited us properly. with an apology. We assume this was just an honest (careless) mistake, but appreciated his immediate action.

Advice: Always keep your original receipts when traveling - of course!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“terrific bbq”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we loved this bbq. the sauces are great. and then you have the beans!
we ate here 3 times in the week we were in durango

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ. Worth checking out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Delicious, speedy friendly service. Everything we ate was great. I enjoyed the peach cobbler. It's a must when in Durango. YUM

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serious Texas Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Serious Texas Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serious Texas Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.