We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serious Texas Barbeque II

Serious Texas Barbeque II
650 S Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
(970) 259-9507
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #56 of 157 restaurants in Durango
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My fiance and I stopped here late afternoon for what he said was the best BBQ!! He had the BBQ taco and I had the beef brisket with cheesy potatoes!! He was right! It was delicious!! We sat outside on their open deck above the river! Great views and great food! I loved that their BBQ sauce was in old liquor bottles on the tables to pour over your food!! I would go here again!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    20
    26
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Different BBQ Establishment, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Being from North Florida and used to being waited on at the table, the serving format was a bit different. Not used to ordering meat and separate sides at the counter. After the courteous staff assisted us on how to order we enjoyed a great meal. I got the sausage sandwich and my wife got the beef brisket. The food quality was excellent. We enjoyed sitting on the deck overlooking the river that flowed next to the place, great view. We arrived early evening, but shortly thereafter the place filled up. Evidently locals really like the food too. We needed a place to entertain ourselves after the meal so we went to a nice movie theater about a block away and saw a movie. It was a nice evening. Would go back again if in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

OMG what a great place to eat at! I felt at right at home!!! The food tasted so good! I am form Texas and we know our BBQ. I would revisit this place and will let all my fellow Aggies know about this place!! I will miss their food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have eaten here several times while in town. My husband eats here pretty regularly and loves the ribs. I have tried the ribs, pulled pork sandwich, Texas Taco, potato salad, cole slaw and cheezy potatoes and all of them are excellent! The ribs are the best!! And how you can tell they are great is, if you don't get there early enough in the day, you may not get any!! The bottled root beer is also a hit, as well as real sweet tea! Being from the south, I find it hard to find real sweet tea when I travel but this place has great sweet tea! We most definitely recommend this place and will continue to eat here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Ribs Done Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Good price, great slab, excellent setting on river--patio is especially nice; right next to
the river trail.
Only criticism is that the ribs are only served "wet" though the marinate is tasty good;
my preference is to get them "dry" and then apply sauce(s) to taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serious Texas Barbeque II also viewed

 

Been to Serious Texas Barbeque II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serious Texas Barbeque II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.