We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep looking.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Tamarron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Tamarron to your Saves list
The Lodge at Tamarron
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   8 miles south of Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Keep looking.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010 via mobile

Our family stayed at the Lodge over a 3-day weekend. The room was dirty and housekeeping never even replaced the towels, much less cleaned the room.
Jess at the front desk was arrogant and rude when we asked for fresh towels.
There is no restaurant and the continental breakfast is nothing more than a loaf of bread, jelly, and coffee.
It is incredibly disingenious to call this place a "resort." This is more like a Super 8, just without the housekeeping service.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    4
    15
    15
See reviews for
30
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Service was the worst. From the woman at the front desk who was too busy to help us to the housekeeping service ... it was awful. The room was average in furnishings, had a homey feel. But the sheets didn't even fit the beds. And they only clean your rooms every third day! We thought we were coming to some upscale hotel. This was one step up from a Motel 6. There is nothing to eat on the premises, which means trucking 20 miles down into town every time you want something restaurant-style. The saving grace was the nice pool area -- kids liked that at least. Next time, if I want to make that many trips into town, I'll stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed at Tamarron over Presidents Weekend, Room was the best we have ever had, Large with Full Kitchen. Stayed in Lodge room. They said it had been remodeled and the job was Awsome. The Room was extremely clean, a great view, and very roomy. The staff there were always very helpful and very friendly. We had stayed at Best Western several time before and felt we could not afford Tamarron, But the Rocky Mountain getaway was even cheaper than just a regular motel room in town... Fantastic deal for the money. The breakfast in the morning was very good also. With hot waffles and rolls, muffins, etc. Plenty for anyone. When we go back to Durango will not even think about staying somewhere else..... Good job staff..... BMH, OKC

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

The staff at the hotel was excellent, especially the morning front desk manager Jess, who needs to be commended for her efforts. They offer a free shuttle to nearby Durango Mountain Resort, which was always prompt and convenient.
At this establishment, the condos are individually owned, which proved to be both good and bad. Firstly, we were blessed with a neatly decorated room that had a great, king-sized bed and comfy leather sofa. In addition, the room had a fully equipped kitchenette which helped to save some coin. The hot tub and indoor/outdoor pool was good, but tended to be dominated by teenagers.
I rated the Lodge at Tamarron as only average because it was pretty isolated from town, and lacked a restaurant, store or bar. The only wi-fi is in the lobby, and there was no where to lounge outside of the room. The continental breakfast was pretty weak and rarely had fresh fruit, or any protein, except in the form of the occasional yogurt.
The ski and stay package that we found through Durango Mountain Resort was both affordable and convenient to ski, and we were fortunate to get fresh powder on the hill 4 days in a row!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

There were 2 large dogs barking in the room next to us and the people said they couldnt do anything about it because they owned the room. Also, they clean your room every 3 days very poorly and it smelled like the lady let her dogs run in our room. Lastly, the beds were really uncomfortable and when you slept the sheets pull up so your touching the mattress.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed at the Highpoint Condos up the road from the Lodge. Our condo was clean and well decorated and we had lovely scenery. We enjoyed the ice hanging from the roof in front of the windows. The facilities at the lodge were great (although another hottub would be great during busy seasons!). Very clean and the staff were pleasant and informative. the layout of the condo was somewhat strange but it didn't matter much.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

My fiance and I celebrated our engagement at this resort. We stayed in unit #114. It is one of the privately owned units. The unit is beautifully decorated in a wonderful mountain/country motif, close to the pool, laundry and the dining (Hamilton Chop House). It featured a king size bed, dining are, kitchenette, TV, VCR, DVD. Very spacious and roomy with unbeatable views over the lake and golf course and the mountains. The drive into town is only a few minutes and a pleasant drive through the scenic area. The resort is also close to horse back riding, glider rides, and the ski area. Check in/out was quick and easy and the staff was very helpful with any questions we had about the surrounding area, things to do and offered lots of "locals" tips for us. It was a fabulous place to come home to at the end of each day, and I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling and staying in the Durango area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Tamarron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Tamarron

Address: 8 miles south of Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Tamarron 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tamarron Vacation Rentals, located in beautiful Durango, Colorado. Tamarron lodging is the best of both worlds ~ just 20 minutes north of downtown Durango and 10 minutes south of the ski resort. Come relax in the mountains while being clsoe to everything Durango has to offer. Our main lodge has an indoor & outdoor heated pool open year-round, two hot tubs, sauna, fitness room, restaurant and bar. Durango lodging accommodations include everything from studio units with kitchenettes to studio lofts that sleep 6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Tamarron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Tamarron Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Tamarron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.