We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Tamarron

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Tamarron to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Tamarron
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   8 miles south of Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty lodging in Durango
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The lodge was actually a very pleasant surprise for us. We booked 3 nights & chose it because of its proximity to excellent hiking while not being too far from Durango. We didn't expect all that space --a dining area, kitchenette, upstairs loft so it was a nice surprise! Plus the view from where we stayed (5th floor) was fantastic! Yes, it is an older lodge but the updates needed are not as dire as some of the other reviews made it out to be. It was well kept. My only 3 qualms were that I definitely wish the shower curtain was newer , I wish housekeeping came by more often, and I wish the rooms had WiFi access (the access is only I think in the pool area and in the lobby). Other than that, we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    4
    15
    15
See reviews for
30
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We reserved a two-level condo at a very reasonable price. The appliances were outdated but clean and functional. The rest of the furniture was in great shape and the room was clean and attractive.

The indoor-outdoor pool was fantastic. Hot tubs were nice and the workout room looked good. The steam sauna in the locker room was a bit odoriferous, but in general the amenities were awesome.

The front desk staff was not particularly helpful, and we had a problem with some entity having failed to cancel a previously-canceled reservation. I say "some entity" because there were multiple parties involved in our reservation and it was sometimes unclear which layer one was dealing with. In the end it was straightened out.

The onsite restaurant was good as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We last stayed at the Lodge at Tamarron 18 years ago. We remembered gorgeous views of the golf course, comfortable lodge rooms, excellent restaurants and lots of activities. We had such wonderful memories of our stay that I immediately settled upon a few days at Tamarron when we decided on a July escape from Texas' heat. Would that I had bothered to read a few reviews before making the reservation. We were shocked to discover part of the lodge has been closed--apparently for some time. The activities and amenities are long gone. The entire lodge seems tired and worn; our room, while clean, hadn't been updated in the last 2 decades. We tried the one cafe on site once; the waiter apologized that none of the first 3 dishes we ordered was available, so we resorted to ordering what they DID have.
Our room was adequate, with a fairly comfortable bed and a kitchenette that proved handy. The state of the tile and carpet--along with the musty smell--led me to wear shoes at all times. The one thing that hadn't changed was the wonderful view of the cliffs and golf course.
One of the people working at the front desk told us that the rumor circulating among employees was that the lodge is going to be closed and demolished. Most of the land that was part of the original resort has already been sold and is now part of the upscale Glacier Club. The golf course itself has been taken private and has expanded from 18 to 27 holes, with another 9 holes to be built next year. My husband was fortunate to be able to play the course and found it has been modified over the years. It was in excellent condition and offered a delightful experience. And the marmots are still there as unofficial mascots!
The location definitely met our needs. We were close enough to Durango to drive into town when we liked, but we enjoyed being away from large numbers of people at the resort. Would we return? Not to the Lodge itself, but we would definitely rent one of the vacation homes within the Glacier Club nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

There were 5 in our room and we didn't feel crowded. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. A full size futon and not a pull out bed made it extra comfortable. Great amenities with pool, jacuzzi, steam shower, and waking trails.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We rented a room at this lodge through Durango Mountain Resorts. From the reviews, I thought the resort would be a bit more updated. Mr Brady would have felt right at home in unit 513! The room was screaming for an update. The bathrooms, furniture and materials, including shag carpeting, did not look like they had been touched for over 30 years. The room did not have room darkening shades, which meant we were all up early with the intense sun in the room. In addition, the lodge itself was in need of repair, with wings being completely abandoned. I asked about getting a room with more updates but the front desk person said he could not help with our room assignment. In addition, I did not even get a bill upon checkout. The person at the front said he was unable to generate one for me since the room was through Durango Mountain Resorts. Five days later I have not received an email bill or any confirmation of what I was charged for the stay.

On a positive note, the kids liked the indoor/outdoor pool and spa. The views were very nice from the property and the distance to Durango was manageable. Also, we ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was of good quality but was mainly bar food type items. There was also a kitchenette in our room and a grill/patio on the side of the hotel, although the grill looked like it had not been cleaned in years.

This lodge has a beautiful location but it desperately needs some renovation or else it will continue to go downhill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Wanted to say thanks to Heather and the Tamarron staff for making our family vacation/reunion great. Our group of 24 were well taken care of and the facilities/condos were great. Location is perfect for day trips to silverton/ouray and into durango. Cuckoos was great and kids loved the pool. Great escape from the Texas heat. We really enjoyed the train, rafting, and hiking the goulding creek (across 550 from tamarron). Hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: 575/576/577 was amazing. very high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

It was so nice to finally arrive at the Tamarron. The location is just what we asked for, about 20 mins out of town. We came up for true outdoor experiences and couldn't have landed at a better hub. Service was genuine and prompt. The place was clean and neat. Loved the smell of those afternoon showers coming from Texas!
And to top it off, we have never had such good chicken from the Cuckoos restaurant. Only good things to say.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Tamarron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Tamarron

Address: 8 miles south of Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Specialty lodging in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Tamarron 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tamarron Vacation Rentals, located in beautiful Durango, Colorado. Tamarron lodging is the best of both worlds ~ just 20 minutes north of downtown Durango and 10 minutes south of the ski resort. Come relax in the mountains while being clsoe to everything Durango has to offer. Our main lodge has an indoor & outdoor heated pool open year-round, two hot tubs, sauna, fitness room, restaurant and bar. Durango lodging accommodations include everything from studio units with kitchenettes to studio lofts that sleep 6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Lodge at Tamarron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Tamarron Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Tamarron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.